trubble with my hercules card and nvidia motherboard... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2003, 03:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
pow
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to pow Send a message via Yahoo to pow
Default trubble with my hercules card and nvidia motherboard...

heya all

i have a little problem, i can't get my graphic card to work...

my hardware:
motherboard - EPOX 8RDA+
cpu - AMD XP +2400
graphic card - hercules 3d prophet 4500(64mb)
HDD - maxtor


the problem is that when i install the motherboard drivers from nvidia and the tryes to install the graphic card the computer doesn't seem the find the card at all and there is a conflict...
And i get a message that there is to many things connected and i i wanted to install the graphic card i should disable something else... so i did, i deactivated something called:
PCI Standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
And after that the computer found and installed my graphic card, at least that was what i thought...
the problem now is that i can't run any 3D applications att all, if i try the screen goes black and i have to manually reboot...

if someone knows what the problem is, pls help me!

another thing that is strange, i can't install java on the machine either...??!!
when the installation comes halfway it halts and i have to manually reboot...
__________________

pow is offline  
Old 09-23-2003, 09:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Don't disable your PCI - to - PCI bridge. I'm pretty sure it's a needed part.

Are you using the latest driver for that card? I assume you at least get a picture on your screen. So the card works, just not 3d. Did you check your bios and see if you have video set to AGP or PCI?
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-23-2003, 09:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
pow
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to pow Send a message via Yahoo to pow
Default

deactivating the pci-to-pci bridge is the only way to get the computer to accept the graphic card...
i have installed the latest chipset drivers, and graphicdrivers...

i have had several people here, people that are realy good at computer hardware...and no one could find anything wrong in my BIOS setup... the only solution the can come up with is to replace the card, but i'm a bit stubborn and realy would like it to work... =)
pow is offline  
Old 09-23-2003, 10:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Got a different Video card just to test with so ya can at least point the problem in one direction or another
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 09-24-2003, 01:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
pow
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to pow Send a message via Yahoo to pow
Default

i have bee in contact with a guy who has the exact hardware setup as i have, he could not get it to work so he changed the card to a GeForce 400 of some kind, and it worked like a charm
But i realy would like to get this config to work, without changing the card...
pow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.