Troubleshooting PCs and the Beeping Noises... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2005, 06:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default Troubleshooting PCs and the Beeping Noises...

I'm doing some troubleshooting on a heap of old PCs and need a bit fo help with the Beeping process when you boot the PC.

The one I'm working on now, when I boot it, I get a long Beep that lasts for atleast 3 seconds. Nothing is displayed on the monitor. It waits another 3 seconds, silently and then Beeps for 3 seconds again and so on.

What woudl the problem be? I've pulled out all cards, unplugged the HD and CD amd Floppy and tried a new power supply.

Is there any online guides to these beeps just incase I run into anymore? Also if there are any troubleshooting guids please send them my way. I'll do a bit of searching now

Cheers
__________________

Mr. tech is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

RAM, Chip and mobo is whats left so either one of those are the problem. try a known good stick of ram. if that doesnt do it, then you have a board or cpu issue
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Long beep(s) is usually a memory error.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Thanks, will look into it.

Any websites that tell yuo what the different types of beeps mean?

Cheers
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

the make of that particular motherboard. Some errors are generic whereas others are based on what type of board it is
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 08:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

It looks like it was the ram, thanks.

I got a 40 Gig hardrive I was going to use but when I Boot the PC it says something like:

IDE Primary Master ... [Press ALT+F4 to skip]

I also tried a 10 Gig harddrive and it worked and botoed into Windows. SI the 40 Gig corrupt or is there soemthing i can do?

Cheers
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 08:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

BTW I pressed ALT+F4 and nothing happend
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 08:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

HA! I called the ram...

I doubt it is ruined, you may have to reformat it though.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 08:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Default

Everyone says reformat... Is that jsut fdisking it?

If so, how do I get it to boot so I can fdisk it and reinstall windows?
Mr. tech is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 09:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

http://bioscentral.com/beepcodes/awardbeep.htm

Award BIOS beep codes right there. On the left you'll find links for every other BIOS maker for a list of their beep codes.

PC doesn't need to boot to format it, only POST.

If your computer POSTS and you can get into the BIOS and whatnot you can format it.

If you're using WinXP you simply pop in the CD and follow the instructions, easy peasy
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.