Troubleshooting the PC startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2004, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Angry Troubleshooting the PC startup

Hello everyone,

I decided to say FU to Dell & other major computer manufacturers & decided to build my own. After I assembled all the parts, I had it up & running perfectly, I didn't even encounter a single problem, until now.

--I moved from Charlotte to eastern NC for the summer, so i had to pack up my PC. When I tried plugging everything back in, my monitor was getting a "RGP Input error" & wouldnt read anything from the tower. I have the correct wires hooked in, & they worked prior to me moving. Also, my keyboard will not turn on (num lock, caps lock, scroll lock), but my optical mouse seems fine. I don't know if my Windows will be able to log up since I can't see a thing from the monitor error. I opened up the tower & looked to see if anything was unplugged but nothing was, seemed everything was in its right place. What could be the problem? ANY feedback is very very appreciated, thanks everyone.

-Garrett
__________________

G_Boss is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

You getting power? Remove and reseat the vid card and check. If nothing, reseat memory, processor, etc.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 07:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Yep, power works (All fans are working & CPU Fan is spinning).
The keyboard does work, I saw that lights flash up when i booted up the computer. I still get the "RGP Error, No Input signal" when i turn on my monitor after i power up the system. Any idea anyone?
G_Boss is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

reseat those listed. sounds like card just needs to be reseated.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Default

reseated all three, and still same problem. Is there any safety precautions i should exercise when cleaning out my computer (dust).
G_Boss is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Well, u should wear Antistatic strap so that when u touch the mobo n the others u wouldnt shortcircuit it.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 11:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12
Default

This problem just happened to a friend of mine. It ended up being a bad stick of memory for him.
Vivid Dream is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 12:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Well, everything appears to work fine, memory is brand new so i dont know what it is. (Corsair XMS PC 3200 x 2)
G_Boss is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 09:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Anyone have an idea? Could it be a short circuited mobo?
G_Boss is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 06:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default

Take a stick of memory out and test it. If you know what you are doing then start unplugging all other devices as well (I.E) Hard Drive, FD, Sound card. If you have a extra monitor try that. If your monitors light turns from orange to green then you are good to go.
__________________

__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.