troubles after cleaning out dust - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 02:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Send a message via AIM to TSXmike
Default troubles after cleaning out dust

after cleaning out some dust on my computer earlier tonite, i started her up and thats when trouble started... it turned on then off then on then off then on again... gave me a long beep and 4 short beeps and shut down... is my power supply on its way out? i cant figure out whats going on... please help asap... i dont want to go to bed yet lol
__________________

__________________
******************************
Abit AN8 32x
Athlon 64 3500+
eVGA 7900gto (x2)
kingston DDR400 512x2
WD 300gb + WD 120gb
Antec Neo HE 550w
win xp pro
******************************
TSXmike is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

What did you use to clean the dust out????????

Also I checked the my little post code handbook, and 1 long 4 short does not have an entry for a POST.....

Maybe you mean 1 long 3 short, if that is the beep code, either your RAM or you Video card is not seated correctly or damaged...
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

uzi9mm, beeb code are not standard on all mobos, he need to look it up in his own mobos manual, unless you two have the same mobos, of course. you probably just damaged something when cleaning it out. did you use a can of compressed air? or maybe a dirty rag?
joshd is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I checked up on his mobo. He has an award bios. I have a manual on POST codes, and vendors.........

And in the manual it has not POST description for Award Bios regarding 1 long beep, and 4 short.

I also verified this online.

I know what I am talking about.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

ok, ok. no offence meant.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

no problem.......

but anyways.

If he used compressed air, maybe he went overboard and got that liquid stuff on the board and it shorted something out.

Or if he used a vacuum he could of ESD'd the board.

But we wont find out until he tells us.......
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

ESD'd?


sorry, electrostatic discharge... (wat a dummy)
joshd is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

You could of damage something but I would first try reseating the RAM and Video card. Maybe this a simple case of knocking something loose when you was dusting. It does no harm reseating those 2 items.

Also check all the powercables to make sure none of them loose.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 189
Send a message via AIM to TSXmike
Default

holy crap... this got attention quickly...

yea i cleaned it with compressed air... but i had the can upright the whole time so it wouldnt spray out co2...

im pretty sure it beeped 1 long 4 short... maybe 5 short... i was kinda panicing at the time.. and the beeps sounded effed up like my pc speaker was damaged...

the only think i could think of it being is the power supply... when i put together my computer i got a cheap one at this computer store just so i could get the thing together... its kinda been acting up lately when i start it up too... like when i push the power button... nothing will happen for a sec or 2 and then the computer will start up... kinda weird... that all happened b4 i cleaned out the system...
__________________
******************************
Abit AN8 32x
Athlon 64 3500+
eVGA 7900gto (x2)
kingston DDR400 512x2
WD 300gb + WD 120gb
Antec Neo HE 550w
win xp pro
******************************
TSXmike is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 03:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TSXmike
its kinda been acting up lately when i start it up too... like when i push the power button... nothing will happen for a sec or 2 and then the computer will start up... kinda weird... that all happened b4 i cleaned out the system...
Sometimes it will do that. Basically if the PSU was off, and you switched it on and you turn the computer on, it takes a sec or two for the power to charge the capicitors.

Also this really does not have anything to do with the problem, but just clear the CMOS....... Just give that a try, hey you never know...
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.