Trouble turning on PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2005, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 56
Question Trouble turning on PC

Hello there! I'm having trouble powering up my PC. When i press the power switch on the case, the power seems to 'pulse' rapidly for a while before finally powering up the H/D, fans etc. Sometimes it takes 2 to 3 mins
Any ideas?
__________________

Fishy is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Do you have a fan controller, turn them all the way down. Is the fan on your PSU adustable, turn that down as well. I had that issue a while back, Its the 12v rail. What PSU do you have?
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

Hm, sounds like the PC is almost overworking itself just to turn on these fans.
__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

He needs to give us his specs before we can assume anything...
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 56
Default

Thanks chaps, my system specs are :- Pentium 2.8 Ghz, 1gb ram, Asus 6600gt graphics card, cdr, dvdr, 120GB h'd, 1 fan on the front, 1 fan at rear, and a 350W power supply. I recently upgraded the graphics card from a Geforce 4, but I still had the powering up problem before the new card. I don't think i have a fan controller, sorry, i'm bit stupid
Fishy is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Do you know how to use a multimeter?

I betya it's the power supply that's causing the trouble, you should measure the voltages, with a multimeter if you can
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 56
Default

No, sorry I don't have a multimeter, and i don't know how to use one, if I did, how would i find out if there was a problem with the voltage? Do you mean the PC could be under-powered?
Fishy is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 04:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

he can just use speed fan, its got a semi accurate reading
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 56
Default

Just had a look at the Speed Fan site, it looks pretty complicated for a dumb idiot like me!
Fishy is offline  
Old 07-07-2005, 06:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 262
Send a message via AIM to PC Man Brian
Default

I'm out of options to help you. I thought the PC was overworking itself to make the fans work. I guess I was wrong.
__________________

__________________
PC Man Brian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.