Trouble With New GFX Card - Part II - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2002, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

you're using the Detonator drivers, yes? not drivers that have been provided by microsoft? which version of the detonator drivers are you using?

is this a fresh install of winXP? or have you replaced an older card?
__________________

Seloce is offline  
Old 12-29-2002, 12:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Just a quick Q: did you uninstall your old drivers first? Usually you can do this through add/remove programs.

You can delete the registry entries by using RegCleaner.

For now, try using the Detonator 30.82 drivers to be safe, even though the 41.09's are official.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 01-02-2003, 07:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to froggie
Default

instead of thinking the video card is the problem for a minute how old is your mobo
it might be worthwhile to get the updated bios drivers from the manufacturer of your mobo
could be the solution
froggie is offline  
Old 01-02-2003, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to h4x0r
Default Try changing the vid card brand

My Guess is also a mobo and vid card uncompatible. Check your mobo to see if it says anything about what vid cards to use and what not to.


Ive had a little prob with the first vid card I got for my computer (winfast A250 something) a GeForce 4 Ti 4600. Second day the display goes blank and when I pop the case open. the card fried a small chip in it (u can see it melted). Then I got a replacement from the company, winfast, It happened again. I sent the card back, and got another brand (eVGA) GeForce 4 Ti 4600. Works good! (Motherboard uncompatible)
h4x0r is offline  
Old 01-02-2003, 09:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Yes, check Chaintech's site concerning BIOS updates and issues/incompatibilities with interface card's or other hardware.

The biggest incompatibility I had in the past was with the EpoX 8KHA+ mobo and the Visiontek GF4 Ti 4600, due to capacitors coming into contact with each other, but after switching to an ASUS V8460, all was quite well.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.