Trouble with graphics card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2004, 01:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol yeah, go figure man. I think theres some unknown conflict with the FX series of geforce cards and ASUS boards or something. Cause just like you I threw the card in...mind you an OLDER motherboard and it ran like a champ, I've never even heard of AZZA motherboards and thats what it ran in. ASUS will NEVER get my business again. Let me know if that MSI board works out for you and you get your system up and running. Now I'm really interested if it does cause thats a major issue ASUS needs to address.

EDIT: Don't feel bad about buying a older mobo for more...I basically did the same thing..paid $90 for this motherboard which is $50 at zipzoomfly, but at the time I knew absolutely **** about motherboards and processors and all that good stuff plus the only thing I had ever bought online was the card that didn't work in the ASUS and just like you I didn't want to wait for a new motherboard to be delivered lol. I just bought a vantec tornado 80mm fan I kinda wish I hadnt lol too damn loud for my use
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 01:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

oh man plus I just now noticed in your specs it says 5700, on your first post you put 5200.....if it really is the 5700 then thats an AMAZING coincidence and I wish I woulda had someone to stop me about 5 days through troubleshooting and say 'Hey dip**** get a new mobo' lol
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 07:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Bad news... I just received the MSI board and I put everything together... the my video card still doesn't work... although the stupid fan receives power now, before with the Asus board the freaking fan didn't even spin. Why is this so difficult?!

The card doesn't show up on device manager, windows doesn't detect it either. I don't believe this crap.. could it be my card? But how could that be! It was working just fine 5 days ago!

Does anyone have any suggestions for a frustrated person that's about to break his computer?
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 07:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Also, I went to the MSI site and look for drivers for the board.. I couldn't find it.

Crap.
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 08:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Sigh.... I give up... either my card is bad... or both boards suck. I'll try one more time and re-install win2k pro since that's the last OS that I had it working on. If that doesn't work.... I'm just going to forget about it. Keep it on the side maybe one day it'll decide to work.

What I don't get is that the card was working perfectly fine before.
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 11:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 50
Default

does that 5700 come with a molex connector for power straight from your power supply if so make sure that it is hooked up and doesn`t have a short,been through that myself in a hurry to change my motherboards and forgot to hook the molex up on my 5900 card lol i was peturbed for a minute also lol,and if thats not it take the card out and clean the terminals on it with alcohol,sometimes the oil on your fingers and hands will cause a short or something like that,had that happen a couple of times also
boomer is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 11:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 50
Default

if this 5700 video card has a molex connector coming straight from your power supply make sure you didnt forget to hook it up,and make sure the terminals where it hooks into your motherboard are clean ,I use alcohol to get the hand and finger iol off of mine
boomer is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 05:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

IT RUNS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I just want to thank boomer for his suggestions, I used alcohol and cleaned the card's teeth and now windows sees it and it runs great!!!!!!!!! FINALLY.... if it wasn't for boomer's advice I would of never though of it. I don't know why but apparently oil did get on there.

The other motherboard I returned with no problem!
My new mb runs great!

Just want to thank Nubis too... I returned my old board for a better one and saved $5!!
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.