TRIM support for Windows 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2011, 10:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default TRIM support for Windows 7

I have a 64 bit copy of Win 7. Both of my SSD's support TRIM. Is TRIM something that Win 7 automatically does or do I need software to do it? How does TRIM work exactly? I have a general idea that it somehow gets rid of unneeded files in the background, but that is about all I know.
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: TRIM support for Windows 7

IIRC, TRIM is set in BIOS.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 08:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: TRIM support for Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
IIRC, TRIM is set in BIOS.
No, it's not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate
TRIM Commands

Enable TRIM
Go to the Command Prompt and type:

fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 0

Disable TRIM
Go to the Command Prompt and type:

fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 1

How do I know if TRIM is working in Windows 7?

Go to the Command Prompt and type:

fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify

DisableDeleteNotify = 1 (Windows TRIM commands are disabled)
DisableDeleteNotify = 0 (Windows TRIM commands are enabled)
This is from the SSD Tweak Guide.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 09:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: TRIM support for Windows 7

Then I didn't remember correctly....
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: TRIM support for Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
No, it's not.



This is from the SSD Tweak Guide.
Thanks. Your guide worked. I have TRIM enabled now, and I Googled more info about what it does. It's basically like turning the "insert" key on for your SSD. It allows you to write over information instead of deleting it first.
__________________
pro2a is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 12:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: TRIM support for Windows 7

Hello
When I type in fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 0
in the RUN Command Prompt nothing happens so how do I know if it's enabled or not?
Thanks
Darryl
darrylp is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 11:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: TRIM support for Windows 7

did you run the Command Prompt as the Administrator?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 12:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: TRIM support for Windows 7

Yes I am the sole user and the Administrator.

I am using a SATA 3 SSD and I don't know if this could be making a difference.
darrylp is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 02:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: TRIM support for Windows 7

can you post a screenshot of your Command Prompt Window with it not responding?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-04-2011, 05:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: TRIM support for Windows 7

Thanks for assisting me but for some reason maybe because I'm a newbie, I'm unable to attach a PDF with the screen shot or insert a screen shot or PM you?
__________________

darrylp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verify That TRIM Is Enabled In Windows 7 Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 09-14-2010 08:35 AM
End of Support for Windows 2000, Windows XP SP2 and Windows Vista RTM joelm3103 Polls 5 04-09-2010 04:02 AM
Corsair Releases Firmware with TRIM Support Osiris New Technology and Products 0 12-23-2009 01:02 PM
SSD and TRIM Question MenschX Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 11-19-2009 10:03 AM
Microsoft Excel Add-In To Trim Spaces Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 09-14-2009 08:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.