A transistor broke on 9700 pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2004, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default A transistor broke on 9700 pro

here is a picture


does anyone know what this is...it still works however i want to know if i should go ahead and try to get an RMA on it or not
__________________

xecutionr_style is offline  
Old 01-11-2004, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Picture taken to far away.
__________________

Spinox is offline  
Old 01-11-2004, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 80
Default

did it come in like that or did you do it? if you did it when it came in I suggest RMA, if it came in like that do an RMA and make them pay for the shipping costs.
dlittlebear is offline  
Old 01-11-2004, 07:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 80
Default

mind you, if this just happened and you have had the card a while, you can try and find out what chip that is and get another and solder in there.


from the image I cant tell how bad that piece is broken, it could just be the solder, so you could just solder it back on by heating up the 2 sides where it meets. Though if its not that old, it should be under warrenty get them to do it.
dlittlebear is offline  
Old 01-11-2004, 10:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

you see the little piece that is circled....it is completely removed from the card...so picture that picture without it

that isnt my card....i search google for pic but thats the same card and color and the exact same piece circled
xecutionr_style is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 12:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Totally RMA this card. The last thing that you want to do is try and fix the card yourself. You'll probably end up ruining the card even further, thus voiding any sort of return.

RMA dude.....

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 01:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeh seems like the best option; if you don't know whether you are doing it right, don't do it
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 11:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

bah over 1 year ...no RMA for me...however i do have a computer electronics class and i can see if they can solder it (dont want to)

or i get a gf4 ti4600 OR fx5700 which is better (dont refer me to ATI they never get my business again...300 dollar card breaks twice in one year my ***) anything above 5700 is out of ? because i will no longer pay over 250 for a vid card
__________________

xecutionr_style is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.