Transferring HDD Data to a new HDD. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2008, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
aeroplane22's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to aeroplane22
Default Transferring HDD Data to a new HDD.

Is there any possible way to transfer the data, including windows to my new Hard Drive when it arrives so it will work stand alone?

..or is there someway to configure RAID with minimal risk to data loss?

Just curious, I'm updating from a fast 68g drive to a slower 500g drive, need the space, hopefully can do it without a lot of hassle.

Thanks in advance.

aeroplane22 is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 09:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
eyeCpc's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Transferring HDD Data to a new HDD.

Better off creating a disk image of everything but Windows since a clean install would be the best recommendation for the new drive. With dual booting and reinstalling Windows seen at times here I now back things up on an external drive in the even any primary needs to be reformatted or wiped for a new one in it's place.

The other option if you simply need more drive space would be to use the new drive as a storage device while preserving the current OS drive. RAID like any other arrays requires two identical drives synced together since you are seeing one partition stretched across two drives there.

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-14-2008, 11:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
carnageX's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,114
Default Re: Transferring HDD Data to a new HDD.

If you want to just transfer everything over from the old drive to the new drive (including OS), use Norton Ghost.
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 09:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
eyeCpc's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Transferring HDD Data to a new HDD.

For retail softwares you could also pick out Acronis as well. A free alternative however would be creating iso images since any cloning involves compression and the lenthy time involved.

Copying entire partitions with GParted from drive to another can be time consuming as well. But not as it takes to move a partition to rear of a drive to allow for a fresh primary at the beginning.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 03:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Kharn's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Transferring HDD Data to a new HDD.

Ghost can take some time if a hard drive is on it's way out or if the file system is pooched. But it also depends on how much data is on the disk in question 20 min is all it takes for around 15gb of data, there is a whole load of factors that can effect the speed. It is also very easy to use, put the disk in the drive wait for it to boot an then type GHOST an select the target drive an then the destination drive an let it do it's thing.
Visit this and do something for the world!

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 08:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
eyeCpc's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Transferring HDD Data to a new HDD.

It also depends on where the files are located as well. If you are trying those found in sub folders under your user name they can be in several locations. if you are simply looking at folders you created for storing mp3s, video files, photos, etc. you might save even more time simply copying and pasting those alone once a clean install of the OS is inplace.

I've been doing a lot of that here lately changing what drive sees what OS on it. That avoids seeing unnecessary files/folders brought from one drive to the next. That usually comes to about 120gb on average while video projects will chew up even far more drive space real fast.

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maxtor HDD data recovery MonkeyBusiness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-09-2008 12:33 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 01:04 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 07:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 09:35 PM
Transferring Data From One Computer to Another GRYT7 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 06-21-2007 11:47 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.