transfering between two pcs. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2007, 02:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 57
Default transfering between two pcs.

Iv just got a new pc and was wandering if its possible to transfer data via a usb cable attached to both pcs?

if so how do i go about doing this, thank.
__________________

boobo7 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 03:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

well you may be better off with an ethernet cable (a crossover type), aside from being more supported its easier and faster
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 57
Default

but is it still possible anyway?
boobo7 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 05:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

You have to buy one that is made especially for that purpose. If you just get a USB cable with two male ends and try to plug it into each computer, it will short circuit both power supplies and will not be pretty.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

lol, i didnt know that, i just knew you could do it somehow, learn something new everyday i guess :P
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 07:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

I think that the easiest way to do this would be to take the hard drive out of the old computer and put it in the new one, with the new hard drive of course. Then you could transfer the files at much higher speeds.
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.