transfer hard drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2003, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to bofos Send a message via Yahoo to bofos
Default transfer hard drive?

this is surely an old office is phaseing out our old ibm's that used winnt..we're down to one machine but i still need information/progs that were on another. my ? is can i/how do i move the hard drives from one machine..........and add them to the one that is left? i physically moved one but it doesn't allow my machine to boot from my existing c: drive .......... the drive that i need to move is a "kangurudisk" with a ide or the other works fine............but not both

hope that's not too confusing but ......point me in the right direction if possible


bofos is offline  
Old 03-20-2003, 12:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to bofos Send a message via Yahoo to bofos

MicroBell......thanx for reply!
i moved hd & designated as slave.........but machine is still trying to boot as if "new" drive is master.....also .....i lose ability to connect to internet......again as if its looking for port on "old" machine ...................i suppose it could be the nature of "kangurudisk"........???btw both os=nt.......
ok so available to extract contents from one drive to another(i have another hd that is identical to the drive in the machine i want to use)?
thanx again!

bofos is offline  
Old 03-21-2003, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to bofos Send a message via Yahoo to bofos

let's see..........they are on a stone tablet around here somewhere..........

at/at compaitble
ibm bios ver nvkt56.0
intel x86 family6 model5 stepping1 ~398mHz
160meg ram
wd 1.9gig hd

auto detection is one i may have overlooked.............ill give that a look......................thanks again!!
bofos is offline  
Old 03-21-2003, 09:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828

Exactly what MicroBell said! Make sure your Pins are set to slave and the cables are hooked up right. This brings me to a long...unwanted story to tell...

It all happened when me and a few boys from school (They are n00bs at computer building) Came over my house and awaited my brand new Xaser ][ Thermaltake w/ Side window. Finally it started raining and no sight of the FedEx truck. We then saw him drive buy so we went out and got on Bikes (Bikes? YES! Bikes!) In the pouring rain and chased him around the block. We stationed each other with walkie-talkies and one stayed back at base. We kept a close eye on the truck until it came back around to head towards our main base. Me and my other boy raced back to base while the other there was ready to recieve the package. I got there in time to recieve the package and bring it in! Mission Accomplished I thought but we still had to transfer one computer to the next. That was a hassle teaching them what and how to do it. Finally it was done. I checked it over after we worked for 1 1/2 hours transfering the whole computer. We then hooked it up and it booted up immediatly. I then shut it down and put my Blue LED inside the case w/ 5 extra case fans blowing. Until a little while ago, I noticed there was a mistake that was maken when switching cases and that was we had the cable hooked up from my Motherboard, to my CD-RW and to my Hard drive but it was in the wrong slot! It still works however and Mission Accomplished!

Why did I write that? I don't know! Why did I write it wierd? Im hyper tonight!

Peace, Game, Score, I Win!

I wasn't a help was I? DAMN!
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 01:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1

lol, sounded like great fun haha
A_Zip1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.