Transfer Data via USB...between 2 PCs ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2009, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 53
Default Transfer Data via USB...between 2 PCs ???

hello again...

1) I have an ADK Pro Audio DAW in my project studio that I use for digital audio recording, mixing, mastering, etc.

At the advice of ADK, I went out & got a dedicated office machine...used only for the internet & graphic apps.

I have been transferring data back & forth...(which is sometimes necessary)...by burning CDs/DVDs on one machine; & then moving the disc to the other.

But is there a way I can simply connect a USB cable between the two PCs & transfer data directly?

2) If this can be done...my only concern is that I utilize ONE Monitor...an LG L227WTG. The analog video input (VGA) on the monitor is connected to the office PC (a Compaq SR5610); & the digital video input (DVI) is connected to the audio PC. Normally, I turn off one PC before turning on the other; & then simply toggle the monitor's Source switch between analog & digital.

can I toggle this switch while both PCs are up-and-running without blowing up the monitor?

thanks very much,


mark4man
__________________

mark4man is offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 04:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 57
Send a message via Yahoo to CustomPCMAX
Default Re: Transfer Data via USB...between 2 PCs ???

Are both computers on a network? Can you network them together to share files? That is going to be the easiest way to share files.

As for using one monitor, you should look into a KVM switch. You can run both PCs at the same time and then with the flip of a switch change between them.
__________________

CustomPCMAX is offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 04:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Transfer Data via USB...between 2 PCs ???

You would hope that a KVM switch could share a keyboard and mouse since they make up the K and M parts of the KVM switch lol. The source button on my LG can switch between two active video sources fine.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 57
Send a message via Yahoo to CustomPCMAX
Default Re: Transfer Data via USB...between 2 PCs ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
You would hope that a KVM switch could share a keyboard and mouse since they make up the K and M parts of the KVM switch lol. The source button on my LG can switch between two active video sources fine.
I guess I never thought about it... LOL
CustomPCMAX is offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 08:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Transfer Data via USB...between 2 PCs ???

If you are going to use the old "sneakernet" you should use a flash drive or two (thumb drives, jump drives, whatever you want to call them). You can get an 8 gig for less than $20 nowadays, and they can be used over and over.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-25-2009, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 53
Default Re: Transfer Data via USB...between 2 PCs ???

thanks all...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
If you are going to use the old "sneakernet" you should use a flash drive or two (thumb drives, jump drives, whatever you want to call them). You can get an 8 gig for less than $20 nowadays, and they can be used over and over.
not a bad idea...gotta be quicker than disc burning.

so...there's no such animal as a direct USB transfer between PCs...without a network, then?

thanks again,


mf
mark4man is offline  
Old 03-26-2009, 06:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Transfer Data via USB...between 2 PCs ???

If the PC's don't have spare network ports, you can get PCI network cards dirt cheap.

Then all you need to do is use a crossover cable between them, give them both IP's, and share at least 1 folder on each PC with the stuff you want to transfer.

ethernet is far better than USB for connecting PC's together (USB wasn't designed for that)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hardrive Query Parky-RFC System Upgrades 6 01-13-2009 09:20 PM
Help needed re: use of SATA to USB to recover data from ruined laptop DinahK Laptops and Notebooks 9 11-06-2008 08:26 PM
new log 05/13 generalaxes HijackThis Logs (finished) 26 06-05-2008 09:43 PM
new computer overheating jokka37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-23-2008 02:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.