Tower112 Rocks! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2005, 02:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default Tower112 Rocks!

Woot! I finally got the Tower 112 heat sink. This thing rocks!

Installation was a bit of a pain, but really just because you have to remove the whole mobo. Other than that it is very straight forward. I installed with AS5 of course....

And stock load temps......

44C!!!!!

I am sure some of you AMD guys don't think that is that great. But for a prescott, that is low!

I will of course keep updated with what my new OC results are...

__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

And some pic's....

So far, 4.2Ghz. I am working on getting it stable at 4.3Ghz, but I don't know.



Here is a pic of the beast itself. I wish I would of taken some during the install



Oh, and I bumped it back up to my 24/7 OC (3.73 @266x14) and load temps are 47C
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 01:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to enGRAVEr
Default

Have you, or anyone you know of tried a peltier in combination with this cooler? I am thinking of going with a peltier and maybe your suggestion the tower 112. I am just a little unsure if I will have to insulate around the CPU.

Thank you for your reply also.
__________________
enGRAVEr

*VIPER ATX Case; *Gigabyte GA-8N Quad Royal; *P-4 3.73 Ex. Ed.; *2 GB Patriot DDR2 533 Dual CH; *2x BFG GF 6800 GToc (SLI); *(3) SATA 250 GB (1)WD (2) Maxtor; *SeaSonic S-12 600watt; *DL DVD Burner; *54x DVD/CD Rom
Test Scores: AquaMark3 GFX-12003, CPU-11602, Total-79109; *01-25290/*03-20444/*05-8346; SupePI-33 Secs @ 1Mb,*HSF-VapoChill Micro.
enGRAVEr is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 01:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I wouldn't want that in my case because it looks EXTREMLY heavy..... Even with the bracket on the back of the motherboard....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 01:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

wow, that's a really nice oc, and even better temps. my 2.8 @3.5ghz prescott has a load at 55c, it idles around 40c, and i have a zalman 7700cu
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 02:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
I wouldn't want that in my case because it looks EXTREMLY heavy..... Even with the bracket on the back of the motherboard....
Well, that is something to consider, but I was impressed with how solid it felt with the way it mounts. Might be more of a problem if you move your case a lot for LAN's or what ever, but I don't so its not much of a problem. I have however seen people rig up extra supporting brackets for it.

Quote:
wow, that's a really nice oc, and even better temps. my 2.8 @3.5ghz prescott has a load at 55c, it idles around 40c, and i have a zalman 7700cu
Thanks That is actually still a very good load temp you have with that OC. Anything under 60C is completely safe for a prescott.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 02:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Default

jeez thats a fast processor
__________________
TERRORZONA REPRAZENT
pwnzer
onyo is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 02:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

why? wouldn't water cooling just be easier?
GageMW is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 02:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default

I would have to say i admire your heatsink and i want one!! very nice.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 03:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to enGRAVEr
Default

More research yeilded a change of mind. I am now concerned with the movement of my case and the weight of the HS. I want to go with a peltier and a heat sink combo. I want to keep the weight down just a little bit.

The research was warning about the 12's weight even in occasional moves. Once I get my group back together, that will happen almost every other weekend, and more than likely at least once during each week. WAY to often to risk this.

Concerns are... Everywhere I look says do not get the dielectric grease into the holes for the CPU, mine is free floating but there are spaces where the CPU sits that I think should be filled. Your answers are??

My rig is a Mid Tower, with plenty of room for everything, the MB has plenty of room all around without bumping anything.

I am not trying to refrigerate the CPU, just cool it down more than what it is now. A lot really does not hurt though.

Condensation, I am in the Navy and if I take this thing underway with me I tend to end up in humid areas, which YES I have read a lot of articles on insulating around the CPU. Has anyone heard of using some form of epoxy and just speading it on, or is the sheeting better?

I have read that Air cooling a peltier does not REQUIRE the insulation, but I do not really feel like dropping the money on another CPU as I would only go with the same one or higher.

And has anyone seen any Mem at 667 in dual channel 512 stix that is in stock?? This ram seems to very hard to find, any clues why or where?

Thanks. :amazed:
__________________

__________________
enGRAVEr

*VIPER ATX Case; *Gigabyte GA-8N Quad Royal; *P-4 3.73 Ex. Ed.; *2 GB Patriot DDR2 533 Dual CH; *2x BFG GF 6800 GToc (SLI); *(3) SATA 250 GB (1)WD (2) Maxtor; *SeaSonic S-12 600watt; *DL DVD Burner; *54x DVD/CD Rom
Test Scores: AquaMark3 GFX-12003, CPU-11602, Total-79109; *01-25290/*03-20444/*05-8346; SupePI-33 Secs @ 1Mb,*HSF-VapoChill Micro.
enGRAVEr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.