Toshiba Satellite - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2004, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to CPearce9
Default Toshiba Satellite

Has anyone here ever had any problems with The Toshiba Satellite 1000 Laptop?


(Specifically a chronic problem with the backlight or screen dieing)

My company purchase a bunch of these and within a year, over half have had major screen issues. I'm trying to find a way to prevent this problem from occuring in the remaining laptops.
__________________

CPearce9 is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

We never had that model down here.

Where was it purchase from? A computer store? Or a Retail Chain?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to CPearce9
Default

CDW, a major national authorized reseller They all have 3 year system guard warranties, so getting them repaired is not the issue at the moment. I'm trying to prevent the problems from occuring.
CPearce9 is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 09:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to CPearce9
Default

would you happen to know where I could find those posts? Toshiba's refusing to admit there's any problem, and inturn won't offer me any solutions to prevent it.
CPearce9 is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 05:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default DEALER CHANNELvs. RETAIL CHAIN.

Quote:
Originally posted by CPearce9
CDW, a major national authorized reseller They all have 3 year system guard warranties, so getting them repaired is not the issue at the moment. I'm trying to prevent the problems from occuring.
Hmmmmmm..... sound like Toshiba might of does a custom build for CDW.

In recent history down here, I have been finding that Toshiba has been doing custom builds for retail chains like Harvey Norman, Bing Lee, RetroVision and **** Smith. The custome build are where Toshiba as actually cut corners.
Examples :-
2x 128Mb Ram Modules as appose to 1x 256 Mb Ram Module
Desktop Pentium CPU as appose to Mobile Pentium.

It $#!+s me from the sales point of view as I loose a customer to these guys as the retail buy price is about cheaper than my ex-tax buy price.

It $#!+ me from a techie point of view as it tarnisih a good brand name.


HP Compaq has been doing the same things too. I had a freind that got himself a Persario that nomrally comes with desktop CPU. He got it from Harvey Norman, and it came with 2x 128Mb Ram Modules as appose me being able to by the same model with 1x 256 Mb Ram Module.

They only way you can tell the difference is if you check the SKU numbers. Unfortunatly, for you to know what the SKU numbers are, you would need to be a reseller of computer equiptment. And finding both model SKU number are not easy.

In the end, it's better to buy a laptop from a DEALER as appose to a RETAIL chain.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 05:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CPearce9
would you happen to know where I could find those posts? Toshiba's refusing to admit there's any problem, and inturn won't offer me any solutions to prevent it.
Sounds about right the right excuse for any computer company (or importer or distributor)
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.