Top of the line business computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2005, 07:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

he said lots of applications

512mb is not fine for lots of apps

i have 1 gig and i feel like it's not enough when i'm running three system hogging programs

i suggest 2 gigs of DDR2, but 1 gig will be enough depending on what you do
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

2 gigs of DDR2 is really fast...if ur running dozens of apps (no typo) then ull be using it to its full potential. id stick with 1 gig of DDR2.

For a case, try this
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You guys are trying to think like logical, sane people. This is a customer with 2G to spend.

Also get him some half decent graphics, 9800 pro's at 190-200$ CDN are becoming a steal, far more reliable than the cheap XFX 6600GT's up here and their name sounds better, more "pro". The 9800pro has a 60$ price gap between the 6600GT.

Go with a full gig of ram, if their's one thing he's going to notice, it's extra ram.

Also go with RAID 1 with 2 200 gig seagate drives, your customer will be VERY pleased with the reliability and speed of these drives, you can keep the OS on a seperate 40 IDE drive if wanted.

Also remeber, nice monitor, non intergrated sound (cheap card) nice keyboard and mouse

This gets you some extra $$$ and a happy customer
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

oooh

i didn't read the post carefully and thought this was a computer for him, not for his customer

heh
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

OK, you people should stop berating this guy, because it is not him that will be using the computer, but a customer...
Try and go newer technology... And ask him if we will go for AMD... It is better...

Yan

PS- Don't flame my SUGGESTIONS.
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

To be honest, the applications you described in your posts do not seem to be very intensive at all.. By any measure.. I have run pretty much all those apps on my PIII 650 without experiencing any lag - well the older "versions" of them I am sure. You can probably run it in any ol computer off the shelf IMO ..

What's the database thing u mentioned anyways?.. MS Access or a "proper" database ..?? .. If it's the latter, that will completely change ur system/requirements for sure.

But yeah. The Raid 1 someone mentioned is probably a must in an office setup. So is a good monitor. If no games, why don't u just go with the Intel Integrated graphics. Just a waste of money otherwise.
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Also, make it be a QUIET setup...
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah but you see, a 9800pro will look better, and you can even show off the PC with a benchmark.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 01:46 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Jesus a benchmark? Lol we have become much to nerdy for this. Listen dude save the customer some money. 1gig of good DDR2 memory can run 10 programs and you wont see a hit in performance.

3.2 CPU is all you need you wont see any bottlenecking with 3.2 and up and if your not goint to game with it what the hell is the point in buying a 6800GT? Maybe a 6600GT.

I suggest like others said to get lots of storage in Raid 1. And making the comp as cool but definatly as silent as very possible. Take it from me stay away from 775 if you dont need to its hot as hell and hard as hell to keep cool silently.

If this person is running a business and wants to spend 2k on a business computer than either they are Bill Gates or are about to be out of business soon because of spending their money dumb.

Trust me the comp i just said is plenty good enough for multi
tasking.

Invest some of the money that was going into a CPU or vid card into a nice 21 inch LCD monitor. For a business a nice looking monitor looks very profesional.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 02:14 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would get:

Radeon X600 or X700 (PCI-E)

Athlon 64 3500+ Venice OR Pentium 4 3.2/3.4GHZ socket 775

Asus A8V or P5GD2 (depending on if he wants Athlon 64 or Pentium 4)

2GB PC4200 DDR2

definately Seagate hard drives
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.