Top of the line business computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2005, 06:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14
Default Top of the line business computer

Help me build a new TOP OF THE LINE business computer for a customer of mine. PC is for a lot of work with Simply Accounting, Office use: Spreadsheets, Databases etc.

I was thinking with socket 478 P4 3.2 with asus P4P800-VM motherboard, with 1 gig of ram. DVD Burner and DVD Player, 160 sata HD.

Should i go with P5 ASUS motherboards? Mobo has to be ASUS and P4 CPU. What would be the best solution? Going to max P4 3.4.
More ram, or go with DDR2???

Thank you for looking at my post, most of the computers I built were for home users, but this is a big contract.

Mance
__________________

mance9 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

3.4 is far from the max, 3.8 is the max for Intel

How much are you looking to spend??

Also you want to think about data backup, RAID 1 hard drives, server, USB hard drive (best option if your not lazy)
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14
Default

PC for about 2000 can.

As far as backup, external 80 is being used.

I wouldn't go over P4 3.4. I think it will do. What specs do you suggest?
mance9 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

why all that expensive hardware for office apps??????????????????????????

take a look at the actual hardware requirements of that software first, then reconsider, why spend mega bucks on something that will run fine on 4 or 5 yr old hardware, unless you just wanna spend $$ and show off or the client is foolish and doesnt know any better

my 2 cents worth
horndude is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14
Default

It's a customers wish to have a top of the line PC, I completely understand what you are saying, but I am just doing what my customer wants. 12 or more hours a day will be spent on that PC.
mance9 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

It is my opinion that 1 Gig of RAM is overkill. Is this person going to use CAD programs? Gaming? Whats your budget? are you building just the box or are you going to purchase the monitor, mouse, ect. too?

If i was going to build that rig i would go with:
P4 3.2
ASUS or MSI mobo
512 MB RAM - no "cheap" stuff
a couple of Hard drives in RAID 1 for peace of mind
Get a DVD dual layer +-RW - no need for two CD type drives

lets have some more info please.

EDIT: WOW! I must be really slow on the keyboard.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 07:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14
Default

NO games at all. Some, not a lot software develompent will be used as well. Basically lot of apps, big presentations being built on it. Moneywise, around 2000 to 2500.
19 LCD Monitor, Microsoft Multimedia KB and Mouse.

Than month or two later color laser printer, but i will not worry about that right now.


I think i will go with RAID 1.
mance9 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 07:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

my 2 cents? Get a pair of Raptors in RAID 0, and get a par of 120 gig hard drives (Western Digital Caviars) in RAID 1.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 07:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

IMO there's no point in going dual raptors if he really doesn't care about that one or two second difference

probably 2or 4x250 seagate SATA HDD in the raid of your choice

you should go ddr2 with intel (3.0 is enough, the 3.4ghz doesn't justify its cost with that 400mhz increase)

you said lots of apps, so 2 gigs of DDR2 ram should do (2x1gb)

for the optical drives, get the NEC 3520A

for the case, get something professional like antec/lian li
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Ok, well in that case, Id get the Asus board, the 3.4ghz intel is fine, 512mb RAM should be plenty.Id also get a nice dvd+-rw drive, a really nice LCD for it, and concentrate on things that just make it easier and fun to work with.Wireless keybrd/mouse, maybe a second monitor, a nice spacious but quiet case and fan setup.Set aside some cash for a really good laser printer and a an office quality mid volume scanner, peripherals in an office cost some bucks to get the good stuff.I wouldnt go overboard on storage, office files dont need that much space, Id lean towards reliability as much as possible, stick with quiet drives, in RAID if you want, just to be safe.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.