too much ram is bad?? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2004, 08:10 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DontStealMyFish
Default

global divx player? does it have all the regular features of other dvd players?
__________________

DontStealMyFish is offline  
Old 02-21-2004, 08:51 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
absolutely true, did you read my post in another thread?
No, I read ALOT of PC magazines and online articles
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 10:10 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Default

When I started playing SW:Galaxies (MMORPG) I was running a P4 1.8GHz with 512MB of DDR in my Shuttle SB51G. For Christmas last year I got a P4 3.06GHz and another (matching) 512MB DIMM. I was amazed at the difference.

I then put together an AMD box and needed RAM so I pulled one of the 512MB sticks out of my Shuttle and my performance in Galaxies went straight to the crapper, it was like I was still running with my old processor and ram.

I ended up putting the ram back into my shuttle and the AMD box is sitting dead until I can order ram for it.

So, to make a long story even longer...

Yes, ram makes a huge difference, even more so then the processor in many cases.
Hostile is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 10:47 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
Global Divx player is very light on resources, can play dvds, and is free too
free ??? is he talking about cd-rom or a program to play dvds
im confused but i wouldnt mind a free dvd player lol
__________________
EL VAQUERO
_________________
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
http://img44.photobucket.com/albums/...vantar_gif.gif
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 02:26 AM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 82
Default

ok so the ram has to match you FSB so if your using AMD at 333 you need 333 ram (pc2700 i think) or will 400(pc3200) will work ?
i don't get the matchin FSB thing
Traicer is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 06:48 AM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

yes it is bad, it burns the pocket
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 09:22 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Traicer
ok so the ram has to match you FSB so if your using AMD at 333 you need 333 ram (pc2700 i think) or will 400(pc3200) will work ?
i don't get the matchin FSB thing
Yes, your best off getting DDR333 if you have a 333mhz FSB
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.