Time to upgrade my sound OR my HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2005, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 42
Default Time to upgrade my sound OR my HDD

Hey all,

Its that time of year again where I have some left over money, and I want to upgrade something relatively cheap in my PC.

My specs are as follows:

AMD 2600+
Gigabyte GA-7VT600
Geforce 6600GT
1gig RAM (PC2700)
40gig HHD (no cache)
Onboard 5.1 AC97 sound
2.1 Logitech x230 speakers

Now, I want to upgrade either my HDD or grab a dedicated sound card. However, I just dont know what to get!!!!

The sound card im considering is:
SB Audigy 2 Value

The hard drive im considering is:
140gig Western Digital with 8meg cache

Im down to 2 gigs on my 40giger, but I think I can manage to uninstall some things (basically, its a juggle of what to keep and what to p*ss off). As for sound, ive noticed sound problems in GTA:SA, and when comparing my PC to a friends who's is almost completely identical (bar a larger hard drive with cache, and a sound blaster audio card), he gets greater performance in games such as Doom 3, HL2, and Battlefield 2.

Therefore, the possibility of running EAX, hardware sound, high sound quality, and gaining performance looks great, whereas a new hard drive will decrease loading times (ive noticed it struggles when loading games/unloading games such as BF2) and give me some breathing room with regards to HDD size.

Any suggestions? I can only get one option, and have around 100-130 to spend (Aussie dollars). To compare the AU$ to US$, a Audigy 2 Value costs about $90. The 140gig HDD costs around $120-130.
__________________

CorruptAssassin is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

I say the harddrive if it really has no cache it would up preformance to get a new hd.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Harddrive, and yes the harddrive has cache, either 2 meg or 8 meg of cache. Probolly 8 meg.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Get the harddrive. You can live with the onboard sound for a while. Heck, I went without sound for a couple years. But the new harddrive will be better for your games and what not. You can eventually get a different soundcard when you have some more spare cash.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 11:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

hard drive cause ur audio works fine but no hdd space get the new hard drive
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

hmm.. 140gig? you sure its not either 120 or 160? 140 just seems strange to me for some reason... don't think computer sites i go to carry them.. anyways, definitley go for a new HDD. if you're really worried about integrated sound taking away from your performance.. which is probably the first time i've heard of this, go grab a cheap one, no need for audigy 2. my comp store has some 6channel ones for under $20, canadian! so in the states probably around $10.

invest in a new HD!
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 03:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 42
Default

hey thanks guys, I think the new hard drive would be nice. 140gigs was just an estimate, ball park figure, the 160gig one is around 120 which suits me nicely.

Getting games and applications to load faster, thanks to a larger hard drive with cache looks the goer. I'll eventually get the Audigy 2, as I have heard it can boost performance.
CorruptAssassin is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 04:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Harddrive, and yes the harddrive has cache, either 2 meg or 8 meg of cache. Probolly 8 meg.
is 'buffer size' the same thing as cache? I have Everest Home Edition, and under buffer size of the hard drive, it says 2Mb.

My hard drive is a MAXTOR 6L040J2.

Finally, can a new hard drive really improve gaming performance? If so, by how much? Remember that I am down to 1-2 gig on my current hard drive, its 5 years old, and has 2 megs of cache (maybe).
CorruptAssassin is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 11:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

i think the performance boost is from taking the hassle off your processor because the sound has seperate peice of hardware
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 04:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

in gaming per se, i don't think HDD will make a noticeable difference. in terms of loading programs, etc.. yes.. but not in gaming.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.