the time is here - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 08:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Cool the time is here

Well i think since im makin a little more money now its time for me to build a new AMD computer. I know i own a P4 now but i've been meaning to go AMD for gaming. What i'm lookin for is:

AMD chipset
PCI-Express MOBO
2Gb Corsair LL
2x36Gb Raptors
2x6800GT's
450-500W PSU

and the rest is pretty straight forward. I need a price quote from Newegg and pretty much whereevere the price is right. Thanx for the help

Cheers-
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

why would you get 2gb? it's not worth it. you'd be better off getting a gig of the OCZ dfi version stuff.
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 08:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

how much do you have to spend?

I would suggest: Athlon 64 3700+ (939) San Diego or 3200+ Venice (the San Diego is the same but with 1MB L2 cache instead of 512kb)

a DFI NF4 Ultra D Lanparty, and mod the BIOS to an SLI version
but use 8/8 instead of 16/2 when using SLI

2x6800 GT's in SLI (8/8)

2x512MB G.Skill PC4000 RAM

OCZ Powerstrean 600W
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

the DFI OCZ version is better ram and i was gonna suggest the 3700+ if he had leftover $
GageMW is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 08:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

Well money isn't an issue here.

Also, i'm getting 2Gb because i plan on overclocking this baby to the max. So i figure the extra little 1Gb boost would help a little bit.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

Gage i was lookin at ure post and i think i would wanna go with the 1Mb of cache for the CPU that Apokalipse posted. Also, Gage, why do you suggest the OCz appose to the Corsair?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If money is no issue, then why are you here asking us? Do you need help picking out the most expensive parts on newegg?
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lasrix
Also, Gage, why do you suggest the OCz appose to the Corsair?
Well if you have unlimited cash, then both of those brands will not suffice. You'll need to go with the most expensive pqi memory on newegg.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lasrix
Well money isn't an issue here.

Also, i'm getting 2Gb because i plan on overclocking this baby to the max. So i figure the extra little 1Gb boost would help a little bit.
that's the dumbest thing i've heard

the more capacity of ram you got, the harder it is to overclock

overclocking with 2 sticks of 256 is easiet; 2 gigs is almost impossible to OC half way decent

i suggest you get a gig at most

i'd suggest:

amd64 3200/3500 venice or 3700/4000 sandiego
DFI lanparty ultra-d
a gig of OCZ dfi special
wait for the new nvidia and ati cards, or if you can't wait, then grab yourself a 6600gt and wait
raptor(s)
seagate 200gb sata hdd
nec 3510A dvd-rw
OCZ powerstream 600W
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.