thow hard drives. one is full... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2009, 06:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Exclamation thow hard drives. one is full...

heres my problem. im guessing my primary drive is the one labeled c: i have another drive labeled e:

the c: drive is full and i cant even watch videos on youtube because its telling me that i have no more space left on c:

how can i change the primary drive to e: since i have plenty of space there?
__________________

escallui is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: thow hard drives. one is full...

Well, you may want to move media files from your C to your E drive "assuming" your C drive is where your OS is installed?

The best way to keep your OS drive from being full is to install bloated programs to your storage drive.

for example when you install a game like Crysis War head, it's a monster in disk consumption, so if you want to keep your main drive free, install it on your E drive.
When installing these big apps, maybe create a folder on your E drive called "Games" and durring install point the installer to E:/games/crysiswarhead

And for your general Media make a folder on your E drive called Media and put your pics mp3's and what ever else that is filling up your C drive that is not core related to your OS.
__________________

__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: thow hard drives. one is full...

Delete temp files (run CCleaner: CCleaner - Home); uninstall unused/unnecessary programs, and also what Hampton suggested.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: thow hard drives. one is full...

Once you free up some space, defrag it. Odds are it will open up a lot more.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 10:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: thow hard drives. one is full...

^just about to say that, i did a defrag of a friends system as he is computer illiterate and freed up over 3gb.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 02:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: thow hard drives. one is full...

Quote:
Originally Posted by escallui View Post
heres my problem. im guessing my primary drive is the one labeled c: i have another drive labeled e:

the c: drive is full and i cant even watch videos on youtube because its telling me that i have no more space left on c:

how can i change the primary drive to e: since i have plenty of space there?
You cant just change it. But you can move your personal files to that drive along with your pagefile to free up space. Along with moving you Internet Temp Files to that drive to free up space.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some help with copying PATA to SATA hard drives nukeman8 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-29-2008 07:31 AM
How full can I load my hard drive? rver32940 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-13-2008 12:32 PM
Hard drives full when not???!! BritishBeef Microsoft Windows and Software 4 02-21-2008 12:48 AM
IDE Hard Drives objecterror Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 07-14-2007 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.