thought it was mobo... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2004, 12:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default thought it was mobo...

well if anyone remembers reading my hectic posts about what was wrong with my computer.. let me tell you that it was not the mobo... I got a new one today and put it all back together to find the same problem.. I turned all the lights off and still the same thing...

Now if you don't remember, I told you that both my hard drive worked perfectly in another computer, i tested another psu in my computer and the same problem would happen... So I'm left with the question.. what is the problem... It is not my hard drives, let me tell you because most people will reply saying it is.. it's not. Good luck on helping me =) and TIA
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

The PSU is the only major thing I an think of thats left. Have you tried a different one? Or maybe its your cooling thats causing the HDDs to overheat. Or what about the SATA/IDE (whatever you use) cables. Try changing them out. I don't think RAM would have anything to do with it..hmmm....sorry to hear that, man. Hope you get it fixed.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

yea it sucks.. ok my antec 550 shows 4.3v on the 5v rail, but even then when i tried the other 450w psu all the readings were correct and it was still doing it... i've changed out the cables, if i go into my bios the hard drives still have a tendancy to "click, wizzzz".. it's the same sound a bad hard drive makes, but it's quite random. I wouldn't think it's cooling, because they never even get hotter than "warm" to the touch...
Demalii is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

now it's doing it immediatly on detection, if through the bios or during post it'll do it...
Demalii is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Hmmm...there is probably a small detail you are missing somewhere. I'll think on it and get back with you.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

This may sound like a stupid suggestion, but sometimes the smallest things work in life. Have you tried resetting the CMOS battery?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

it's a new mobo..? new model also.. I will do it for you bee =)
Demalii is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

If its not that, it seems like it would almost have to be the cooling, since you've changed everything else out. Try different RAM next though just for kicks and giggles.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

damn.. now i'm getting depressed, i have only 1 hard drive plugged in and nothing else, no lights, cdroms, nada... just the cpu hsf is it.. and it's still doing it (i did a cmos clear)
Demalii is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Think a minute....what is different about your dads setup with your hard drive than your own?
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.