thinking of an upgrade, but.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2004, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default thinking of an upgrade, but..

well before i start i have a friend gave me a compaq w/ a dead CPU. its a 5005cl and here are the specs
1.1ghz athlon
FIC AZ31
512mb pc100 ram
128mb 9600xt
60gb maxtor 5400RPM
400w PSU

anyways, when the cpu died i replaced it with a 1700+ and what do ya know, the crap OEM mobo read it as a 1.1ghz athlon. anyways, i am starting the feel the age on this machine (if you know what i mean) because of the weak CPU and slow RAM but i am on a very limited budget. i figured i would get a new mobo and i would get the full capibilities out of my CPU and found this with preatty good reviews for an amazing price. (p.s. please don't recommend me a new CPU because at this time, i can not afford it but will upgrade to a 2400+ or something when i get the cash)

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...185-010&depa=0
or (because its only $10 more and supports 333FBS)
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...185-036&depa=0

i am not an overclocker at all so i don't need to be worried about
that. i will also just get 2 sticks of kingston pc2700 256mb valueRam. i know that PCChips or whatever is not like asus or MSI, but i figured it wasn't perferred because of its inability to overclock lots. the reviews look great on them, but i am open to comments on them. if anyone has a better mobo in the same price range then i am all ears

but most importantly, and the main reason i am posting, is will i see a major difference with a 1.47ghz cpu instead of 1.1ghz and pc2700 ram instead of pc100. is all this worth the time and money??? i am hoping for a yes, but if not let me know

-p.s. please don't recommend me a athlon 64 or something because that just isn't possible right now

does everything i mentioned look ok??
__________________

quartz01 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 01:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default Re: thinking of an upgrade, but..

Quote:
Originally posted by quartz01
well before i start i have a friend gave me a compaq w/ a dead CPU. its a 5005cl and here are the specs.....
Compaq systems are extremely proprietary and thus make upgrading difficult. Even the MBs they use in their case is very non-standard and I doubt that any standard ATX MB will fit inside that Comcrap. Your best bet is to save your money and build a new PC.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 01:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default

yea i was getting a new case anyways.
i was looking at this because.. well its cheap and i have worked with one before and its a great value
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...156-002&depa=0
or i might go all out and get this
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...156-140&depa=0

plus i will get a new HSF for my CPU
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...114-013&depa=0
i could probley sell my mobo and ram on ebay for around $75 (the ram is crucial) so all this would cost me very little compared to going all out on a new PC
quartz01 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 03:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default

anyways i think i am getting off topic, so let me restate my main questions
are the parts i am getting alright for what i want and will i notice a difference from a 1.1ghz athlon w/ pc100 ram to a 1700+ w/ pc2700 ram?
quartz01 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 05:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Yes .. Also there may be a BIOS update available for the compact that will support new CPU`s .Punch in your system Service Tag or Serial number at Compaq website and search.Depending on the age there may be some jumper settings as well download the manual.
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 02:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default

^^ eh, i don't think so. The mobo only supports 200FBS
quartz01 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 07:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i dont know anything of the old athlons except. a friend i new, use to have a 1700+ and i know that runs at 1.3ghz. u shur the 1700 has a 333fsb? i dont know anything of that cpu, but u shur it doesnt only run at 133fsb?

that sounds kinda weird that the compaq only supports pc100, usually isnt pc133 also supported.
jolancer is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 07:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default

^^^ a 1700+ runs at 1.47ghz and the FBS is 133, but that second board that i posted supports 100, 133, and 166. yea and my mobo supports pc133. it originally came with 1 stick pc100 128mb and i added a 25mb and 128mb of pc133 but it runs at pc100 because of the first stick. i decided theres not much of a point in upgrading the first stick to pc133 because the benchmarks so miniumal difference.
__________________

quartz01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.