thermal paste/pad? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 09:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to soup lightning
Default thermal paste/pad?

whats this for? do you have to have the paste. was looking at a heatsink for my cpu and a lot of reviews said had something about arctic silver 5. do i have to have this? how much is it?
__________________

soup lightning is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Thermal paste basically is used to fill the cracks between a chip (CPU, RAM module, etc) and the heat sinks. Because no surface can truely be flat (our manufactoing process simply cant do it without skyrocketing the price), we use a pad or paste (Paste is better) to fill in the gaps for better heat transfers. Otherwise, air fills in these gaps, which insulates the CPU and builds up heat. This is bad.

Artic Silver 5 is the best avilable thermal gel.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to soup lightning
Default

so just a drop of it on top of the cpu and im set? how much is it?
soup lightning is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

If you get a retail CPU, it will have a pad on the heat sink, so you CAN just drop it on.

If you get oem, then you'll need to get some artic silver 5. bout 4-6 dollars a tube.

In that case, someone else will have to tell you how to put the thermal grease on. I'm not so good at it.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 10:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

You apply a dot the size of a grain of rice.

Then you put the heatsink on and over time it will even out.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...tions_big2.htm
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

how do u know he's using for a p4, or a A64?

use this AS5 instruction link instead and pic witch core your using it for...
http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm

its about $13 shipped, about $6 if you get it shipped with something else.
jolancer is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to soup lightning
Default

those links make it sound complicated. basically just put a small drop on cpu and put the heatsink in?
soup lightning is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
how do u know he's using for a p4, or a A64?

use this AS5 instruction link instead and pic witch core your using it for...
http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm

its about $13 shipped, about $6 if you get it shipped with something else.
I didnt think it mattered...
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 01:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to Jonc731
Default

I am still a little confused about applying thermal paste. Is it the same whem applying it to a Duron (exposed core), or a Pentium 4(unexposed core) Do i just put a drop about the size of a grain of rice on the core of a Duron, and in the middle of the surface on a pentium 4 .

(I can't recall the name of that metal cover???)
__________________

Jonc731 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.