thermal paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default thermal paste

how/where do i put the thermal paste for the processor?
__________________

__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 09:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

google...
__________________

20mm is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Depending on what CPU you have follow the instructions.

Here great is a great guide: http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm
ApM is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

ahhh that's what i was tryin to find. good work apm.
20mm is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 10:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Not a problem , if you get stuck with anything just ask!
ApM is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 03:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to z3r0gr4v1ty
Default

well i've got my mobo in my old case b/c my new one isn't gunna be here till saturday and i'm gettin' antsy lol but i have a major problem though u might have seen the topic i posted about not being able to get back the login screen or i can get past the login screen but when it gets to the desktop it restarts and sometimes it restarts at the login screen....could this be becuase it's ntsf and i didn't reinstall the os i just tried to be lazy and just hook it up with the previous os still on there?
__________________
Specs:
POWMAX CP0327PL-4 - Case
AMD Duron 1.8ghz 266fsb - CPU
Syntax SV266AD Socket A - Mobo
512MB PC2100 - RAM
PNY Geforce 4 440mx SE - GPU
Windows 2000 SP4 - OS
Logitech 2 button optical scroll mouse
MicroInnovations Web/Office Keyboard
Motorola IMfree - Wireless Aim
z3r0gr4v1ty is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Arctic silver is very cool. my system runs on 39C normal and 54 (max i've seen). but make sure you follow instructions carefully.

just keep this in mind, a if u were given choice that the surfaces are so smooth that u may not use thermal interface, then prefer it.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 06:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Arctic Silver 5 on my system keeps the cpu down to 86F/30C and at max temps i know are now 110F and 37C i think thats what it converts to.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 07:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Yeah I'm using Artic Silver 5 around 44C when working downloading or looking at webistes and around 50C when playing games but I've just applyed the Paste and it takes around 200Hours of constance (Supposably) use to get the correct Temps.

Also I'm using Cool And Quite.
ApM is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I dont use cool and quite, i just turn my fan to max.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.