Thermal pad good enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2005, 06:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
Default Thermal pad good enough?

Well I purchased the parts for my computer yesterday at neweggs. I forgot one thing though. The thermal paste I'm not sure if the thermal pad is good enough? I'll think I'll stay on the safe side and get the paste. Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound is pretty good from what I hear. How would I apply it though? Like a dot on top of the CPU?

Oh and would I leave the pad on there too? I don't really know what they look like, but I assume a small flat pad on the bottom of the HSF?.... >_<

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537
__________________

Scarlet is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

A pad should do. If you do apply thermal paste, put just a dot on the die, and spread it out. Remember not to do both.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 07:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Just make sure when you go to put the arctic silver on that all trace's of the pad are gone,Just go get some isopropyl alcohol to make sure the heatsink is perfectly clean befor applying the arctic silver.
Shumway is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Ah ok I guess I'll remove the pad then. Is there software that can monitor the temperature of the CPU? I think u can look at it in the Bios? But is there a more conveniant way.

I'm not sure what temp is the norm either. Is it like 50C?
Scarlet is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Well what cpu you get and just go to www.articsilver.com it has directions there also there is a program called speedfan and that works alright might be off a few degrees but nothing that much i think. LOL
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

To add to what macdude said, just apply a small dot to the center like he said, but DO NOT spread it around. That was necessary on older versions of arctic silver, but not with arctic silver 5. The reasons for this are two-fold. a) it will spread out the necessary amount over time once the pressure of the heatsink is placed on it. and b) the heat from the microprocessor emanates mostly from its center.

see here:
http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...structions.htm
Luxar is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 12:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

That is very wrong and will destroy your cpu.

You must spread it out so it will gain contact with the heatsink. It says it right there in the link you just posted.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 12:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

Look again. Observe the last three paragraphs of the section on p4/amd64 processors.

I quote:
"Since the vast majority of the heat from the core travels directly through the heat spreader, it is more important to have a good interface directly above the actual CPU core than it is to have the heat spreader covered with compound from corner to corner.

The photo to the right shows how the pressure from the heatsink base spreads the compound and also shows a P4 with the heat spreader removed to show the location of the actual CPU core that is the source of the heat.

While the CPU core on an Athlon64 is slightly larger than the P4 core, it is still much smaller than the metal CPU Cap that covers it."

It tells you to spread the Arctic Silver 1,2, and 3 on the bottom of the heatsink, not on the processor. For Arctic Silver 5, one should not even be applying compound to the bottom of the heatsink, not to the processor. Thus, no spreading should be involved.

And no, it won't destroy your cpu because the one I'm using right now works just fine.
Luxar is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 12:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

For artic silver you take a half grain of rice sized glob and put it in the middle. The pressure does the rest.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.