Thermal No No (200k image) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 01:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default Thermal No No (200k image)

Who says being A+ Certified is a good thing?

lol I say this because appearantly this computer was built by a computer store with a guy who had such certs




EDIT: BTW...appearantly temps were 60C idle and 72C full load, so my friend (The guys hand in the picture ) was asked to inspect this persons computer to find out why
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Did all of that grease screw anything up?????????
I think the A+ employee is either a dumbass or he says he got a A+ cert when infact he didnt. But I noticed that the A+ exam has alot of old question son it that do not really matter in the modern computer technology world. There is stuff on there about ISA, and pentium pros. Not really anything recent.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Nope, computer works fine...if it were AS5 it would be a different story.

But yeah that A+ exam is outdated. Pretty much most people here could get it easily
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

ya, i'm going through A+ guide to software in one of my classes and it's seeming to easy. i was hoping it was gonig to be really up to date and stuff.....but, that means i'd have to buy another 80dollar book hahaha.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 03:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

thats what i tell all my friends, some of those computer technitions are quite dodgy. Hey, that mobo kinda looks like my A7n8x-x
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

Its like maddox says, an A+ certification ranks somewhere between tying your shoes and not choking to death on your own drool in the spectrum of skills.

EDIT: poopy, I didn't realise how old this thread was.
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Hahah they over estimated the amount of grease to the center chip by 249562956020 extra applications of grease.
RaiN is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 04:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Holy poopy, now thats just sad, looks like he didnt over estimate, looks like he used an entire tube of the crap...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Looks like they even forgot to put some of the stuff where it belongs to be.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 04:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

This is why you shouldn't trust shops to make PCs for you.

Its something so easy to do anyone can build a PC.

I may write a book on how to put a PC together in easy steps... No wait that would be an A4 sheet. I'll need to think up more content then.
__________________

__________________
jono199 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.