Thats just TOO low, HP! [a rant] - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2005, 05:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Ummm... Gateway has never been that bad. Had one about 8 years ago... could upgrade NO problem... bought last one about 2 years ago, same thing. No problems upgrading. The only real problem I've heard is the tie in to the o/s they used to have with the bios but I think they've done away with that (I'm not positive on that one, though). I also did some of the busniess tech support for the networking side and they were ALL upgradeable (including standard consumer systems).
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 06:22 PM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

i love my gateway, yet hate it, i love it because i can uprgrade it, i hate it because the mobo is a noname piece of royal ****
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 06:27 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

i had a dell, and i upgraded the gfx card twice - first to a geforce 2 mx 400, then to a radeon 9200 SE. RAM was fine. however, i wanted to up the PSU so i could get a better card, but i had heard the rumor that only certain PSUs could fit in dells. tried a friends, it was true. DAMN DELL
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 12:28 AM   #24 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145113
Corsair, helping to stick it to the man.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 12:40 AM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

oh sh*t, i hope the ram I ordered from newegg fits in my gateway, i didn't buy that kind. it will work though, I hope to god it will.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 12:52 AM   #26 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

how old is the gateway?
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.