Texture Compressing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2004, 02:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default Texture Compressing

I don't really sure if it is a right section, but anyway.

It is an option in video preferences in many games, called "Texture Compression".
can anyone explain what does it exactly does, and what it's influence on game permormance and quality of picture, and also it's influence on resources usage?

Thanks.
-AndreiD
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

Hardware................................
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Basiclly it's to do with the quality of individual textures. I think you notice it more in some games than others... Here's a segment from HardOCP's Doom 3 guide that compares the various levels of in-game compression options:

http://www2.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NjQ0LDM=

Otherwise, I wouldn't like to say any more- I've always been looking for a precise and straightforward answer to this aswell...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 04:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

hh, you right, sometimes it's better not to say nothing, than say things you don't know
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by smartech
hh, you right, sometimes it's better not to say nothing, than say things you don't know
lol Exactly

But on topic, in certain games you won't notice a difference either way, and yes it takes it's toll on your FPS. e.g you can enable uncompression in Half-Life 2, I don't know what textures are compressed in particular but I swear looking at it I can't tell any difference... maybe a fraction more detail in certain wood surfaces or something.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.