Testing PSU... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2005, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default Testing PSU...

Ok, I just bought a new case from Intrex computer store, along w/ a 400W PSU. Now, I screwed it in, and just connected the power connector in and plugged it into the wall, I flipped the switch, and nothing happened. The fan didn't spin. Does this mean the PSU is faulty? I watched the guy at the store test it right in front of my eyes and it worked fine. Does the 20 pin connector have to be connected to the MoBo for the fan to spin?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

think about it dude...your PSU doesn't turn on your computer simply by flipping a switch right..

http://www.casemodgod.com/cmg/Howto-story--16.html

Read that..you gotta connect the only green wire in there with the black wire to the left of it...use a paperclip...if you really want to see a good pic, I'll take a pic of my test PSU for you.

The power switch that you hook up to your mobo jumps those two pins which then sends a signal to the PSU to turn on...following that tutorial skips all that of course
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Means the power supply didnt turn on. Most likely a power supply problem <-_->
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Wow ok so I have to do all that to be able to use my PSU? Or that is just a way to test? Because I am scared out of my mind to try that.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Means the power supply didnt turn on. Most likely a power supply problem <-_->
Nah, he just wants to have power to his fans but not have the PSU plugged into the mobo...theres no problem, he's just gotta connect a couple wires in the PSU first.

EDIT: CS, give me a couple minutes and I'll give you a pic of mine...you don't have to cut wires like that dude, he's just making it permanent.
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

I basically just want to make sure it powers before I plug it into my 2nd build I am doing. Chris it can't be a problem because the guy tested it and it worked.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default




and bam you can test your PSU...just make sure that paperclip doesn't like, rest on the metal part of the psu or something like that
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

So just push the clip up into those 2 pin slots and the fan should run and such?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah, like I said...the guy in that tutorial cut the wires to make it a permanent test PSU...but the point to be observed is the fact those two wires just need to be connected in some fashion...a paper clip works wonders.

Theres only one green wire, and it's the black wire to the left of it that it needs to be jumped with....this of course being when you're looking straight at it with the green wire in the front and as you can see generally that little clip is in front as well
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Ok well I'll have to try it out Thanks
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.