Testing a MOBO & CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2004, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default Testing a MOBO & CPU

I have a couple questions..

First, when you set up your PC outside of the case what surface should the motherboard be placed?

Second, if you give power to the PC with only the CPU installed, should you get any types of Beep Code, or do you need to have other components installed?

Any help would be appreciated =)
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 06:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
First, when you set up your PC outside of the case what surface should the motherboard be placed?
The best thing you can find that won't conduct electricity....I believe one person in here put theres on cardboard and it seems like that would work pretty good as I've heard no instances of anyone or anything being shocked from cardboard

Quote:
Second, if you give power to the PC with only the CPU installed, should you get any types of Beep Code, or do you need to have other components installed?
You should be getting a beep code...usually when there's no RAM it'll be 3 long beeps (rather annoying really) but also you gotta remember you'll need to have the speaker from the case plugged into your mobo so your case needs to be kinda close by That's the only way you'd hear those beeps.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Many thanks, Nubius. I forgot about hooking up the speaker. DUH! It's kind of weird, I had an ASUS board once that beeped without a speaker hooked up. Must have had something on the board.

I'll put down some cardboard and see what happens. =)
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-31-2004, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I had an ASUS board once that beeped without a speaker hooked up.
Yes it did have an onboard speaker. So does my old ASUS board and I wouldn't doubt that a lot of them did or still do.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.