Testing hard drives - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2003, 01:03 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

I will keep you informed on my project, at least I am learning alot from messing around with it and reading things here. When the thing went down to begin with it was acting wierd so I tried the reset button and when it tried to come back up it said hard drive fail and the hard drive would just click. So I tried another hard drive from another computer that also did not work but had no idea why but it also must have died for the same reason. I got a good [I hope] HD in it now but the more I try to do the worse I make things. Now when I try to do anything with it the monitor clicks and seems to go into power down mode and the red light is on steady, it used to make a steady beep but dosen't make a sound now and the power button will not shut it down, I hope my messing around has not ruined the mother board I just put in. Tom
__________________

__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 09:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

I got the CPU today and I also took the power supply to a cumputer place and they tested it for $5 and it was fine, I got talking to the guy and told him what I was up to and what I had done, He told me to take out the 2 dimm modules and try them one at a time so I did the first one it made the long beep and nothing else, the 2nd one I got a screen and it detected stuff and would not go any further, so I put that one in the old packard bell I got going and in there it came up but shortly after I had all kinds of wierd letters on the screen and it was froze and power button would not work so I am pretty sure its the DIMM, So I ordered 2 more of E-bay today {for a good price} I am pretty sure that will fix it. My question is will it matter which one goes where in the slots? They are pulls from a working machine. Tom
__________________

__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 10:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Default

Won't matter so much as where you put them, as much as, if your mobo can handle that type and speed of dimm.
__________________
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 11:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

I looked in the book for the motherboard before I ordered them to make sure they were the right type and voltage and that stuff. I am learning so much lately, LOL, I even fixed a small problem with the next door neighbor's PC yesterday, saved them some $. Tom
__________________

__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.