Tempted to build new machine :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2005, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via ICQ to langers
Default Tempted to build new machine :(

I have the following situation,

I play games constantly... all the time... mainly FPS.

I have a self built p4 prescott 2.8 ghz, 1 gig ddr 333, some random motherboard and an ATI 9600 128....

This machine was my main machine but now I use it as a server, it has 3 hard disks and its been up for several months downloading stuff from the web and running various scripts for my computer games.

Now about 4-5 months ago I brought myself a Dell 9100 latitude laptop, 3.4 ghz p4, 1 gig ddr 400 ram, 256 meg M9800 ATI g card... now i play a lan party every other week which is why i went for a big old laptop and im now using this as my main machine..

Now being the gadget freak that I am I cant help but think that I should have kept my old laptop (was fine for the games I play at the LAN party) and built myself a new faster desktop.

I still owe £1500 ( i live in UK) for the laptop which Im going to have to pay off at some stage.

Ive benchmarked the laptop and I get about 3800 in 3dmark 2005, its a great machine dont get me wrong but I would love something that gave me 10k +

Im very technical in terms of networking and computers but im fairly out of touch when it comes to building machines..

If you had to construct a nice new machine what parts would you go for.... I dont want liquid cooling and all that crap.. im looking for a spec that I can go on the web and order the parts for less than say £1300 (not sure what that currently equats to in dollars)...


I look forward to your suggestions...... even if it includes keeping things as they are
__________________

langers is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

i recomend u get out of debt
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

To break 10000 in 3Dmark05, you are going to need the following:

CPU: FX-55
MOBO: Asus A8N-SLI or the DFI SLI mobo
RAM: 1GB of good quality, low latency RAM (Corsair, Kingston, Crucial...)
Vid Card: 2X 6800GT or 2X 6800U running in SLI
It would help if you could overclock the CPU and vid cards, too, but you shouldn't have to to get above 10000
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via ICQ to langers
Default

hmm sounds hexpensive...

I might just overclock the laptop till it explodes and see what performance I can get out of it.

The get out of debt suggestion is a very good idea
langers is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 11:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

DONT OVERCLOCK THE LAPTOP! they have bad cooling
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 11:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Yeah it might melt.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 11:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via ICQ to langers
Default

Ive been doing some research on this particular lappy,

They reckon I can over clock the G card heavily before any heat issues become apparent.. I might goto a 420 / 420 clock mix and see what happens
langers is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 11:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

ohh the gpu, still i wouldnt do it, but hay its your risk
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

debt owns you
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.