Temporary Image Retention - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2008, 07:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Temporary Image Retention

I have a question about TIR in LCD monitors. My monitor is acting funny, it's a 24 inch View sonic HDMI. I am getting TIR unusually fast. I can fix it by running a blank white screen for a few hours, but unless I make sure an Image is not in the same spot for 10 mins or so, I get TIR again. Can someone please tell me how I can completely get rid of this TIR, and prevent it from coming back so soon. Thank you.
__________________

HoNkIfYoUrHiGh is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Temporary Image Retention

TIR is very, very, very and near impossile to get shot of. Is your monitor still under warranty?
__________________

__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Temporary Image Retention

Yes, but viewsonic has bad customer support it seems, I have a 3 year warranty that says does not support screen burn in, and that is the answer I got when I sent in an online form.
HoNkIfYoUrHiGh is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Temporary Image Retention

That's pretty bad customer service if you ask me. If the goods are not 'fit for purpose' then you are entitled to a refund or a replacement...well at least here in the UK.
__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Temporary Image Retention

http://www.idt.com.au/Planar/TIR_Mitigation.pdf

you leaving your screen on with a static image?
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Temporary Image Retention

Hmmm, interesting link AT...wonder how successful those tips are...although it sounds like the images are quite bad.
__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Temporary Image Retention

I played Gw earlier, and my Party list I kept in my top left corner, 10 mins later it burned in. I do not leave static images up, I have in the past, for instance the ut3 map burned into my right corner, unfortunately the game is not like GW, and you cannot move around the interface, that will for a fact burn in. But if that is the case, what can I do, what can I play? With it not leaving TIR, how can I prevent it from coming back. I don't think everyone has this problem, most games have something that stays in one part of the screen, (Which I admit, it's BS) so because of these games I am screwed? I wish there was something I could do man.
HoNkIfYoUrHiGh is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Temporary Image Retention

Did you try the tips from Atomic Tofu's post?
__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Temporary Image Retention

Yes, been there done that. :P
HoNkIfYoUrHiGh is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 07:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Temporary Image Retention

Guessing it's still the same?
__________________

__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double clicking an image opens windows photo gallery instead of preview the image djfiasco Microsoft Windows and Software 10 03-03-2008 11:35 PM
How to install HDD image onto new HDD smurph Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-09-2007 01:43 PM
Macromedia Dreamweaver Image Issue westy159 Web Graphics and Design 5 12-07-2007 02:35 PM
Added 1 Gig of Ram and CPU is SLOWER!? czarnybaran5150 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 08-08-2007 12:09 AM
Browser Resize image question Murdoc Programming 1 07-23-2007 04:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.