Temperature monitoring - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 03:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Default Temperature monitoring

I was looking for some software that will tell me info. about how hot my computer is running. Anybody know of any good programs or do I have to have some kind of sensor?
Thanks
s10237
__________________

__________________
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with HT Technology 3.0, 512MB RAM( as of right now)
OS: XP Professional, Fedora Core 3
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Analog Devices ADI 198x Integrated Audio

registered linux user #383139
s10237 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Search the forums, there are plenty of discussions about this, a new thread should not be started.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

SpeedFan ftwin!
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Default

Sorry I did search after I posted LOL I tend to do that. Anyway I downloaded Speedfan after a little searching. For some reason it is not picking up my fan speeds but does detect my HD it is running at 111F

Also it does not have my motherboard as a option to choose. I have a Dell?
__________________
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with HT Technology 3.0, 512MB RAM( as of right now)
OS: XP Professional, Fedora Core 3
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Analog Devices ADI 198x Integrated Audio

registered linux user #383139
s10237 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yea me too. it does not seem to support dell mobos. i know that my cpu has some form of monitoring, as when it is under load for a while, the cpu fan speeds up by itself.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Try Everest Home Edition (www.lavalys.com).
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

I use everest too. Prefer it to speedfan
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.