Temp question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2006, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Temp question

I just added a copper HS, some AS5 and A tornado.
I have everest and speedfan, but which should i trust more?
Speedfan says my core temp is 38C load, but everest says its 32.
Could one be more accurate then the other?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 05:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

BIOS will be the most accurate. I wouldn't trust one or the other if they're both giving out different read-outs.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 07:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I believe Speedfan has been known to "lie" a little. I'd say Everest is the more-accurate of the two.

Try motherboard monitor.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 08:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'm certain Gigabyte have their own monitoring software. you should always use manufacturer software if possible because they should be calibrated to the monitoring chipset of your board. also compare temperatures in BIOS to windows both at idle and after a reboot under load to establish a baseline for comparison.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 11:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Ill check gigabytes website.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

Everest should say where it is getting the temp from, usually from your hardware temp monitoring... i'd trust everest
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 01:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 17
Default

How can I tell what the temperature of my computer is?
barbiedoll1973 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 10:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by barbiedoll1973
How can I tell what the temperature of my computer is?
Through CMOS Setup or by using a program such as speedfan or everest. (there are others such a Motherboard moniter)

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
Everest should say where it is getting the temp from, usually from your hardware temp monitoring... i'd trust everest
Fixed, Turns out speed fan assigned Temp2 as the core and Core as some other sensor. I just renamed them.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.