Tell me if this is going to work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2004, 08:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to soccer05guy
Default Tell me if this is going to work?

Iam going to build my first computer. Please tell me if all these parts are going to fit/work together. I have already checked but i just want to ask someone because its my first time. The reason why I dont have CD drives/hard dirve is cause i already have them.

Case:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

Memory:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

Motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

Processor:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

Video Card:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE


Thank you
Also if you have any suggestions/upgrades(that are cheap)
Sorry i put this in the wrong section
__________________

soccer05guy is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

hmm, that will work, but i would recommend an AMD. they are better for gaming. What are u gona be using the pc for? And i would REALLY try to get an other gfx card. the 5200 is crap. look for an ati.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You put this in the perfect section unfortunately I know nothing of Intel products, I'm strictly AMD so I couldn't tell you jack about your parts. But, from the generic readings of your motherboard and processor I don't see why they wouldn't. Mobo says it supports celerons and you chose a 2.4 celeron (You might want to save up unless you absolutely can't because you'll get pretty poor performance with Celeron, it's the low end of pentium chips)

Also I would suggest you get PC3200 RAM instead of PC2700. You don't have to get high performance cause not all of us can afford it, me being one of them and my kingston valueram is good for my needs, but yeah you definitely want to get PC3200 RAM instead because both your board and CPU support it.

DO NOT get the 5200 video card. If you want nvidia, that's fine just don't get the 5200, it's a mainstream model card meaning it's not really meant for performance at all when it comes to games or anything of that nature.

http://www.nvidia.com/page/fx_desktop.html

Read toward the bottom you'll see MAINSTREAM and PERFORMANCE, so basically that 5200 will really be lacking in terms of gaming if you want to do that. THe 5700's are only like $100 and that's what I got and the card works great, although the ATI equivelant of the previous gen cards generally outperform the nvidia previous gen cards.

To sum it all up:
1.) Get PC3200 RAM it'll save you cash in the long run
2.) Either step up to 5700 atleast or find an ATI Equivelant card in your price range, I suggest to spend $100 if you can on a graphics card.
3.) Possibly consider something besides Celeron because like I said it's low end of the pentium chips, but if money is an issue then I know you can't help it. Dun worry about that I can't afford a lot of good stuff either so we just gotta deal sometimes.

Good luck!
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to soccer05guy
Default

Ok I changed a lot. So i want to still make sure its going to work.

Motherboard:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-472&depa=0

GFX:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...121-502&depa=1

CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-141&depa=0

Thanks for your help
soccer05guy is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 09:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I'd recommend getting another card manufacturer besides ASUS, but I'll openly admit I'm biased against them cause personally I think they suck nowadays. There has been talk on these forums that you can unlock the SE to make it hit Pro levels, but you'd require better than stock cooling to do so and you'd have to hope that the 4 pipes closed off aren't defective. Some are, some aren't.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.