Television on my computer. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2004, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Lightbulb Television on my computer.

Where I am currently living, it is cheaper to get the cable internet connection while also being a subscriber to their cable television. Internet only $59.99, with cable tv, their limited basic package $9.99 and to add internet cable $45.99. Hence I got the one with the limited basic cable tv. THe issue, not really an issue, but the thing is that I don't have a television and don't really have the space to put one. My question is, can I get the cable tv to come out on my computer, and if so how do I do this? I will have a desktop Presario S6000Z. This is the graphics card: 128MB DDR ATI Radeon(TM) 9200 SE. Is this possible? Thank you in advance for your reply.

sunnyjdsn is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 08:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287

Get a Video Capture card . Mine cost 10 bucks a couple years ago.Youll need to get a splitter to feed one line to your Nic card and another to the Video capture card.

That covers TV but if you want a VCR too. Go to
They got a try it free thing.Something like a month.Works perfectly. Even ahs a TV guide deal on line cost like 60 bucks for program and nothing monthly ever.

Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 03:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

its not called a video capture card. you need a TV tuner card. goto and type tv tuner into the search box. sort the search by votes. here is the best one, even comes with a remote control:
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287

mmmm what did you sure there are lots of little marketing names for stuff.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718

yeah im and nvidia guy but i say go with the ati all in wonder
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 09:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260

Do you still need a TV tuner card if your LCD monitor has a TV tuner?
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 09:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287

I supose you wouldnt if your LCD had sound but i dont think snapstream would work like that cause your LCD would be functioning like a TV not really part of your computer.You could ask on there forum maybe they would know more.
AIW had a lot of problem's early on with bad picture quality. That was a while ago.Maybe its worked out not sure.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 01:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

he is talking about watching cable TV, not normal TV. what does a video capture card work for?
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 01:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287

Id think it would work for any VCR, antena,Cable, it receives a signal.Pretty sure its all the same.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 02:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher

I have one of the first generation ATI All In Wonder video cards and I love it!! This easily allows you to watch TV and hook up any devices such as a VCR or DVD player to view or record on your computer. I always schedule The Fresh Prince of Bel Air to record on my PC because I love that show!! I then convert them into VCD's so that I can watch them on my real TV.

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.