TDK CDRW not showing up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2005, 02:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to DongeR
Default TDK CDRW not showing up

Windows XP SP2
p3 866mhz
geforce 2
asus TUSL2-C mobo
512 ram
Sound Blaster Audigy plat

TDK CDRW
TDK DVD RW

Only the DVD-RW is showing up in windows however the CDRW is showing up as a cd-rom drive that isn't operable or viewable when trying to explore.

any suggestions?

TIA
DongeR
__________________

DongeR is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 02:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

are they separate drives?

i have a tdk velo burner and it wasn't supported by Service pack 2 a couple months back.

when did this start to happen?
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 03:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to DongeR
Default

yes physically seperate drives.

and this started happening when i wanted to burn a dvd instead of a cdrw on nero 6.

I have tons of blank cdrw's laying around and i wanted to copy a dvd and so i tried but it took too long. XP is only seeing the TDK DVD-RW. Maybe SP2 has something to do with it but I didn't have a problem with a tdk cd-rw and a creative dvd-rom however, at the time, i didn't have sp2 installed.

DongeR
DongeR is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Check and make sure the driver is recent on the CD-rw drive. If it worked before SP2, make sure there are no known conflicts between your drive and SP2.
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 03:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

you could also like i did go to the tdk site and go to live support and ask if your drive is supported by sp2.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.