Taking apart a PSU - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2007, 08:16 AM   #11 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

agreed, it takes experience to mess w/ the insides of a psu. u'd be better off getting a $30 psu to replace it (i assume an anceint gateway doesnt need a 1kW psu, hehe)
if you let it sit for a day or two, the capacitors will probably leak all their power, but its just not worth it
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:49 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default

I've decided to just leave it be. I might just get some insulation for the case and leave it at that. Not really worth getting shocked over.
__________________

Mister_Meow is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 04:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

I've messed with old AT PSU,s before, almost blew out the electrical socket and fryed the PSU cord i was using once when i wired the main switch back wrong (**** AT's). All you really need is ATLEAST a basic understanding of Compacitors and electricity but, i dont recommend breaking into a PSU if you're willing to keep your life
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 02:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Well, I usually clean the inside of my PSU once a year, and I haven't been shocked to death yet .

I just get it out of the case, take the cover off and spray some compressed air on the components. I then remove the fan and make sure the bearing is lubricated (I usually add a drop of oil).
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 02:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Yes, working with them can be dangerous, but I too have taken a few apart, and cleaned them. I moded one too from an old P3 system... it was a 200ish Watt PSU, and wasnt' good for anything anymore, so I made it a test supply, to test out fans and other junk and whatnot... it is actually quite useful, and easier than lugging a tower around, or pulling the PSU out of a tower.... I wouldn't suggest it unless you know exactly what you are doing...


__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 09:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

very impressive, but did you really need to take it apart to do that? Couldnt you have just cut the wires that were already comming out of the psu and attached the connectors there? or were you going for neatness?
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 09:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

I've opened up PSUs, to clean and to oil or replace the fans. I didn't really think about the dangers at first, but after looking into the harzards more thoroughly I try to avoid opening up PSUs now.

Some suggest that leaving the PSU unplugged for a day will make it safe to open up.

Some also suggest that before opening up the PSU, all you need to do is unplug the PSU from the power outlet (keeping the ATX connector connected to the motherboard) then press the computer's power button, which will drain any remaining charge in the PSU's capacitors.

I say avoid opening up the PSU. If you really really want to open up the PSU, then as already suggested, I'd advise you wear rubber gloves (as thick as you can). Wearing rubber shoes and standing on a rubber mat may also be a good idea.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 05:26 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

If I ever open up a PSU, I just unplug it, then I press the power button on the PC. the PC will turn on for about half a second.

That discharges the capacitors pretty well.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 11:50 AM   #19 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default

First of all, don't discourage a person because you don't understand the principles of a power supply. If you hate noise (like me) then replacing the power supply fan is one of the easiest things you can do. Just unplug the power cord, take out the power supply, open it up (do not touch anything if you want to make sure you see your vent buddies afterwards), drop a paper clip on a capacitor to rid its charge or touch it with a voltohmeter, then replace the fan. However, some power supplies have the fan soldered on so you might be out of luck from the beginning. If the fan is connected otherwise, then get a 3 pin - 2 pin adapter (sold here ), make the simple connection - fan to adapter to power supply connector obviously - and you are done.
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 08:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by decibaL
First of all, don't discourage a person because you don't understand the principles of a power supply. If you hate noise (like me) then replacing the power supply fan is one of the easiest things you can do. Just unplug the power cord, take out the power supply, open it up (do not touch anything if you want to make sure you see your vent buddies afterwards), drop a paper clip on a capacitor to rid its charge or touch it with a voltohmeter, then replace the fan. However, some power supplies have the fan soldered on so you might be out of luck from the beginning. If the fan is connected otherwise, then get a 3 pin - 2 pin adapter (sold here ), make the simple connection - fan to adapter to power supply connector obviously - and you are done.
Shorting the capactors to discharge them is an idea. However, a lot of people avoid doing this because, since there is no resistance when shortening the capacitors directly, it can damage the capacitors and or circuitry, shortening the life span / reliability of the capacitors. Instead, it's much better to slowly discharge the capacitors using a resistor.

Here's an article which I have found useful: http://www.repairfaq.org/sam/captest.htm#ctsdc
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.