Takes a long time to post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 07:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default Takes a long time to post

Hello.
I started overcloking my computer today. It was all fine and dandy until I tried to set the FSB at over 215. At that point the computer would take a while to post. It would give me the black screen for about 20 seconds and then post. What could be causing that? If that helps my memory was overclocked too: 2.5, 3, 2, 7. but that didn't make much difference when changed.
I'm really confused about this.
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 07:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

is there a setting for a fast POST?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 08:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

There is a quick boot option, but that was enabled from the beginning.
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 08:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

so it doesn't do that when not overclocked?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 08:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

The default FSB was 200, I can get to 215 without that happening.
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

For some reason the same thing happens now but I can't go higher than 224. I tried removing my 6800 ultra to see if it by any chance had anything to do with power (a random guess). Well i put in my old GeForce4 MX and nothing better. I put my ultra back again and I can go up to 224. Weird.... but I'm still confused. Why so long to post? If it would go over the limit it wouldn't post at all right?
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.