System Restore - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2006, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default System Restore

Hi I have just tried to do a system restore on my laptop. After logging back on in displays the message system restoration incomplete. I have tried going back to earlier dates but still no joy.

If anyone can help i would be most grateful. Thanks Rich
__________________

frenchilla is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

The reason why these previous restore points have failed is because certain significant system changes have been made after each of these restore points, making it impossible to turn back to these system states while retaining system functionality.

Can I ask why you need to use system restore? Do you have a particular problem... ?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I need to restore as the network changes that have been made need undoing! I changed the settings as another website told me to do and now it won't let me renew my ipconfig. so therfore i thought of doing a system restore. Any Ideas? Thanks
frenchilla is offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

...system restore for something like this is a little too drastic.

System restore is more ideal and practical in a situation where the system has a critical problem.

What settings exactly have you changed, and what problem are you experiencing, specifically?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.