System Restart Randomly - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2004, 06:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Well... even i think kboy's right here .. What are ur CPU Temp's ...

Also does this happen only when u write cd's or does it also happen when u run games .. or when ur zipping large files etc..
If that's the case ..then it's definately the heat which is the cause.
__________________

__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 09:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

0x00000050 (0xe12cc000, 0x00000000, 0xbf872c79, 0x00000001) thats the error...i have 300 watts i have a cd-rom drive, also cd-rw,amd athlon,nvdia gforce mx 2, 2 hardrives, and an extra 80mm fan. It happens when im zipping up large files and also the computer might just freeze on me
__________________

hbhakta is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 09:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

300 Watt PSU Is kind weak dude, Did ya try the link I sent Ya?
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 10:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

Minimum Power Supply is 318 Watts

what should i do?
hbhakta is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 11:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

Have you checked your system temp in the BIOS yet? Also, while you're in there, look and see if there is a system health tab that tells you what the voltages are that are being supplied, and post those.

If the temps are too high, and you already have an additional system fan in, see if you can re-route the wiring to let more air through. That will lower the temps.

If the system temp is ok, but the voltages are too low, you'll have to do what I did, and pick up a new power supply. My opinion, a new power supply will probably solve your problem.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 11:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to hbhakta
Default

the website said i need 318 watts of power...so my cd-rw takes about 20 watts so my computer is always on the border line..so when i try and burn....it goes over and restarts or the BSOD comes up
hbhakta is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 04:38 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Changing ur PSU would surely be a good option .. But i still think it's the heating issue here ...
Post what are the temperatures ur cpu's running at ..

Also as hilowe mention .. u could add another fan ... or for the time being atleast clear up all the tangled wiring etc.. to craeate better airflow
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 09:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Sounds like ya need a Bigger PSU.
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.