System requirements for 9800 Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2004, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default System requirements for 9800 Pro

On the place where im getting the card it says:

System Requirements:


RADEON™ 9800 Series of products requires connection to your PC's internal power supply for operation
(Consult your system builder or OEM to ensure your system has an adequate power supply)
ATI recommends a 300-Watt power supply or greater
(to ensure normal system operation where a number of other internal devices are installed.)
Intel® Pentium® 4/III, Celeron™ II, AMD® K7/Athlon®/ Athlon® XP
AGP 8X (0.8v), 4X (1.5V) or Universal AGP 3.0 bus configuration (8X/4X).
128MB of system memory
Installation software requires CD-ROM drive
DVD playback requires DVD drive

AGP 8X (0.8v), 4X (1.5V) or Universal AGP 3.0 bus configuration (8X/4X). In my motherboard manual it says the following:When u buy an AGP card, make sure u ask for one with 1.5 V apecification. Install only 1.5 V AGP cards on this motherboard. So does it mean that i can only run the video card at AGP 4X?
__________________

__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 07:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Hmm, I'm pretty sure you can still use the 9800 Pro, you either have to maybe knock back teh voltage on the AGP bus, or it will just run at AGP 4X, which is fine cause it won't cost you hardly any performance.
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 09:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

so if I just out in the card is it gona adjust itself ot should I change settings in bios before putting it in.
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

I'm not sure about that really I've never done such a thing

IMO, though as long as its an AGP 8x/4x it has to work, so go ahead and get it.

I'm pretty sure it will work
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

ok thanks man im getting it today.
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via ICQ to Rey_Nemaattori Send a message via AIM to Rey_Nemaattori Send a message via Yahoo to Rey_Nemaattori
Default

I haven't heard of anyone destoying his gfx-card put putting it in a AGP 4x slot. Even though the card is agp 8x, it's always backwards compatible.(Well most cases, agp 2x & 4x different completely though...)
__________________
AthlonXp1800+ @ 1800Mhz(air)<br>Sapphire Radeon 9600XT 256 mb @ 570/684 (air)
<br>Gigabyte GA-7VAX KT400(Bus @ 175Mhz & AGP @ 70Mhz<br>
512Mb PC2700 DDR-Ram @ 350Mhz
Rey_Nemaattori is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 06:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

I'm using a Radeon 9800 Pro on AGP 4x and I get decent performance, but my power supply is horrible (like 200 watts)...im getting a new one soon tho
__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 08:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it should work, AGP8x and enough power is all you need
don't worry about the CPU specifications as a board with 4-8x will always hold a neccesary CPU
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 03:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 64
Default

Just curious, Stupid... how did it go?
diggerB is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 09:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

There really isnt much difference between 4x and 8x anyway. Most games out now wont push your card fast enough to make the 8x even noticable. I wouldn't really worry about it unless you want every last drop out of it.
__________________

__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.