system not reading my hdd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2005, 02:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Question system not reading my hdd

i have three hd's connected to my computer, they were all working fine, and now as i turn on my computer its not seeing my third hard drive. can anyone help?
__________________

socom2playa is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 03:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

Well there might be something wrong with the third hd, can you tell how it is connected? IDE, SATA, SCSI etc?

Another problem could be in power supply, maybe it doesnt have enough juice to run 3 hd:s and all the other stuff you have?
__________________

__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 03:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

its connected by SATA.
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 03:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

SATA cables can have loose connection, check if the cable has peen pulled of.

Attach it with some duct tape if it doesn't hold otherwise.

If that's not the case, Windows may have been tampering with your SATA drivers.
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 03:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

i checked all of my connections everything is in place, it even shows the drive on my desktop,but when i click on it it give me an error message , its also asking me if i want to format the drive.I dont want to format it due to the fact i think i'll loose all my files that where on it.
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 03:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

Hmm..

Have you accidentally turned RAID on/off ?
Changing that setting can make your files unreadable
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 05:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Are you running these in a raid setup or all as individual drives?

As long as that drive is not running your OS, try to put it in the channel that a known functioning drive is on and see if it recognizes then.

Other possibilities:

Bad SATA cable

Bad SATA controller
__________________

__________________
<b><a href=\"http://www.switchphase.net\" target=\"_blank\">Computer and I.T. solutions for small business</a></b><br><b><a href=\"http://www.laptoprepairdirect.com\" target=\"_blank\">Laptop Repair Direct</a></b>
switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.