System keeps crashing on certain demanding games such as bf2 but doesnt on 3d mark - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2005, 07:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default System keeps crashing on certain demanding games such as bf2 but doesnt on 3d mark

Hey guys i posted this problem also in the gaming area on bf2 my system crashes freezes it alsosometimes happens on prince of persia warrior within i dont understand it i more than meet the system requirements and it doesnt happen on 3d mark 2005 so why does it happen on games ive updated all the nforce and gpu drivers still crashes ive even set all graphics too a minimum still crashes ive reinstalled windows and reinstalled all motherboard drivers etc can anyone shed any light on this problem coz i really want to play this **** game for more than 30 mins and get some performance out of my hard earnt easy spent cash :P
__________________

Sasagawa is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 08:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Ignore the bit about prince of persia it is now BF2 specific
__________________

Sasagawa is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

This used to happen to me after about an hour or so of playing BF2 (even a couple times with HL2)... I had my RAM overclocked to 240Mhz, so I brought it back down to 200Mhz. I haven't had BF2 crash since. I've got basically the same specs that you have (3000+ OC'd to 2.4Ghz, eVGA 6600GT), but I have a full GB of RAM, so maybe you need to get more RAM? I'm not sure exactly what to tell you... it seems like a lot of people have similar problems with BF2.
beardo526 is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 02:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it will most likely be your CPU overheating, or a bad PSU
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 02:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Defiantely overheating, check your temperatures, at a certain temperature your pc shuts down, I suggest AS5 if aren't already using it and a new heatsink/fan combo.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 03:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it can also be the PSU. it is known that computers can crash with cheap PSU's, and fluctuating/too much/too little power
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 05:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Was it happening before patch 1.3 release ? Theres been alot of complaints on crashing sense the latest 1.3 patch was installed.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.