System finally together, disapointed. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2005, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default System finally together, disapointed.

See sig. Finally got it up and running, despite a few annoying pitfalls with this board, but now it runs like a dream. Windows boots in 8 to 10 seconds, its amazing. However, im a little dissapointed at my 3D performance. The only game I found around here was Hitman 2: contracts so I loaded her up to see what this new rig could do. 1024x 768 max settings, it looked to be averaging 24 to 30fps. 800 x 600 max settings it flew (70 - 100 fps). Could have something to do with the fact that this game came bundled with an ATI card, but who knows.

I wont have futuremark scores for a while, still waiting on broadband internet, but my question is: Could a weak powersupply affect 3D performance? Still waiting on my fortron blue storm....

BTW, everything is stock. 200 HTT, 100mhx PCIe, the card itself is at 533mhz, 1.06ghz mem speed, and I double checked to make sure it was in PCIe 1

Is there a secret to getting better performance? Sorry for the long winded rant.

EDIT: On a side note, I just wanted to comment on how absolutley AMAZING the 64 bit proccessors are! Mine idles at 25*C with stock HSF and stock thermal pad, temps rise to only 33 - 35*C under load!!
__________________

__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Have you installed the graphics card's drivers including direct X 9C and the chipset drivers.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 10:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Have you installed the graphics card's drivers including direct X 9C and the chipset drivers.
Yep. I dont know how recent they are though, Nvidia lost me after they stopped using the Detonator drivers.
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 10:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Power could affect your graphics performance. If your running a lot of HD's then it could put a draw on the PSU. How many watts do you have (b/c your sig isn't showing up for me at all). And how many Hd's are you running?
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 11:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

I have a paltry 400w power supply (for now), but only one IDE optical drive and one SATA HDD.

Other than that, the only things drawing power are the motherboard itself (I hear NF4s are power hungry), 3 case fans, and a floppy drive.
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 11:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

My guess would be driver problem in that case. 400w is plenty of power for that setup. Check for drivers for your MOBO that may support PCI-e as well as drivers for the actual PCI-e graphics card.
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 01:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

He may have enough wattage but not enough AMP's. I have a 420watt Raidmax psu but it has only 13 amps on the 12v rail which isnt enough for anything that im running, even though im running my computer now, i still have periods of time where it slows down or completly crash's like in Halo.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

I've got 18amps, which is low, but the power does not fluctuate under load much. I guess i'll wait until my fortron unit comes in and see.
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

18a for the +12v rail seems sufficient enough. If the card was being severely under powered I'd assume it would crash first and not just give you poor performance. Go to nvidia.com and get thier latest forceware 71.84 drivers, it increase performance for me by a bit.

About a 300 point increase in 3dmark05 just changing to them. If you're using the drivers with the card, these might help
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 06:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

If you play diablo 2 lod dont update to them drivers, because there are color issues with them.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.