System failed memory test - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2003, 03:14 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307

I have the same MOBO AsusA7v8x and have Samsung 3200 DDR in two 512MB chips. I have not had that problem. However I would not be surprised if it was the memory cause these damn VIA chipsets are picky as hell.

Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Old 05-08-2003, 02:34 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default Which RAM to use ?

I have recently bought the ASUS A7N8X Deluxe board, and my old RAM (1 x 512 MB DDRRAM PC2700 333 MHz V-Data), dosn't work with this board

They are working fine in other boards, so now I'll have to buy some new RAM.

But my question is:

Which ones do I buy?

I want at least 1 x 512 MB DDRRAM PC3200 400 MHz CL 2, and I DON'T want it to be incompatible with my board

So...Any suggestions ?

Plz help

Orion is offline  
Old 07-06-2003, 11:47 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to buckidge

similar problems here...

2x512 crucial pc2700
asus a7n8x deluxe
amd 2600+ 333FSB

things were running fine... overclocked to 200x11 and worked fine
went for 200x11.5 and windows didn't boot even after a no-error post...

from there i decided to go conservative back to 166x12.5 as originally set up.... windows still didn't boot just as before

then a restart and trouble arises!

"system failed memory test" come up over and over again... can't even get to the BIOS.
-tried moving from slot to slot
-tried one at a time

nothing over and over again.. only "system failed memory test"

PLEASE help!

buckidge is offline  
Old 07-07-2003, 12:33 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5

Try to borrow a RAM-module from a friend and see if it will work with that.

It helped me.

Good luck
Orion is offline  
Old 07-17-2003, 01:41 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Default Failed Memory Test

I have and A7N8X Deluxe, 2 x 512 Crucial PC2700 DDRAM, Asus GeForce FX 5600, two cd drives and a Western Digital Hard Drive. Every once in a while I get a "Failed Memory Test" message on boot. What is worse than that is some times after my computer has been running it will get the same message and then hang with the monitor recieving no output from the vid card and this forces me to restart the computer with the button on the case.

This has become a big problem any assistance would be welcome.
serialpirate is offline  
Old 07-21-2003, 12:24 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Default Failed Memory Test

I do not have the latest bios. My HD's are on IDEs. I took out my memory and then put them back and it seems to have fixed it for the most part. It has only happened once in the last few days.
serialpirate is offline  
Old 07-29-2003, 10:05 AM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1

i have the same problem, but it differs from yours...

my computer worked well before i went to holidays, and when i came back it didnĀ“t starts anymore...

system failed memory test!

but it worked for 1 year and now that????

need help
savi is offline  
Old 09-06-2003, 12:35 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Unhappy Same problem

I had the same problem after updating my BIOS
I can only boot up windows by taking out the BIOS battery
What sall i do please hlep me

raziel is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 07:26 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1


To all who foulmouth the Asus (nforce2) boards... If you would have checked the Asus site for your Mobo's specs you would have noticed a section Memory QVL TABLE... It gives you names and part numbers of all SUPPORTED MEM FOR THAT MOBO!!
Therefore: If you blame asus for your memory problem, I guess you can say chances are you did not do your research before you bought yr board...
I have an A7N8X myself and have used it to build plenty of PC's for other people as well, and I must say I have never had any complaints about it and am very happy with it myself.

Sorry if this all may sound a bit harsh, but all I'm saying is before you buy something, find out what it is yr buying..

Good luck...

NumlockeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.