Which system is better: #1 or #2? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2004, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default Which system is better: #1 or #2?

#1

http://secure.newegg.com/app/shoppin...promotionCode=
Disregard the PCI Express video card, that will be changed to AGP

#2

http://secure.newegg.com/app/shoppin...tem=13-136-149

Which is better? Keep in mind I will be using this machine for everyday work and applications with the occasional extreme gaming. Which will suit my needs?
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Sorry, the #1 system is supposed to be AMD 64 3000+ 939 pin with an ABIT AV8 motherboard.
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Basically I'm asking is there any benefits of going P4?

OR

With 64-bit operating system coming, is it obvious to go with AMD 64?

AMD 64 3000+ 939 pin
P4 LGA Socket T 3.0 GHz

Just tell me which one?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 05:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

To be honest, it depends on whats the most you want from a processor. Gaming or Applications. If you want damn good gaming computer, no hands down go with the Athlon 3000. If you want damn good application proformance go with a Intel 3.2ghz 800FSB ++. Dont get me wrong AMD is very good with applications, but the best Intels beat the Best AMD in most application benchmarks.

But i personally suggest the AMD.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 05:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Does hyper-threading make that must of a difference?
See I have a P4 with HT right now, but I have never used an AMD.
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 06:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

All AMD 64 Bit Athlons have HT. Yes HT does matter. Im not sure if you really understand how it works, and why its good. So i will explan it to you.

A normal CPU does work like this (Unit)- 1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8. So pretend your working on stacking boxs (DATA). And im throwing boxs at you, and sometimes i throw them to fast. So boxs (Data) arent getting stacked at the rate im throwing them. So they hit you and fall, creating (Lag).

But HT works like this.
(Unit)-1.3.5.7.
(Unit)-2.4.6.8.
This way im throwing boxs at you and another person is helping you out. Making the rate of Data processed faster.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 06:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Are we talking about hyper-transport or hyper-threading?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

AMD = Hypertransport
Intel = Hyperthreading

Hypertransport means faster transfer rates throughout the motherboard

Hyperthreading means the CPU processes 2 things at a time
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.