switching over to AMD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2005, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default switching over to AMD?

man, im thinking of switching over to amd,cuz i wanna try something new. should i get the p4 3.0ghz, or the amd athlon 64 3400+.
DECISIONS DECISIONS...!
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

dont get the AMD Athlon 64 3400+ as its socket 754 and not a nice cool running winchester core... get either the Athlon 64 3200+ (winchester core) socket 939 or the Athlon 64 3500+ (winchester core) socket 939.

But yeah if you wanna try something new... switch to the AMD Athlon 64.... I am loving my 64 3200+... I switched to AMD years ago from a pentium II to an Athlon 800mhz then to an Athlon XP 1900+... and I never looked back! I think AMD chips are better value and they do everything I want them to just fine
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yea i am thinking of getting the 3200+, how hot does it run?
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

mine is slightly overclocked and it idles at 29c... under max load it reaches about 32c

it runs so much colder than the athlon xp i had... and as its socket 939 and i got a dual channel mobo, i am able to run my ram in dual channel which is fantastic.. I have no complaints about this chip!
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Hygor, those are some nice temps. You should OC intil you reach 45c under full load. Phosho510, if you do indeed get a 3200 Winchester, then your on the rite road to some OC. I know 3200 newcastles OC good. But winchesters will OC better.

You would really get some nice benchmarks if you OC it to 2.4ghz and raise the HTT.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

God, if only i could hit 29C...
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
Hygor, those are some nice temps. You should OC intil you reach 45c under full load. Phosho510, if you do indeed get a 3200 Winchester, then your on the rite road to some OC. I know 3200 newcastles OC good. But winchesters will OC better.

You would really get some nice benchmarks if you OC it to 2.4ghz and raise the HTT.
I have considered overclocking... but I dont know anything about it!

Mine is slightly overclocked already, coz i did something, but I have no idea what... but it is minimal!
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

will the 3200+ perfom better then my p4 2.8ghz in gaming? because thats what i mostly do. :P
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

Athlons are generally thought to perform better in gaming, and if you have a 3200+ socket 939 and a motherboard which supports dual channel ram... then you put one of your current 512 sticks in each ram channel... then you will have a great gaming experience. but then I dont know how your current rig performs gaming..
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 02:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

ok i made up my mind. im getting the amd athlon 3000+, so i can save money for the dual core coming up this year.
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.